Cart
Free Shipping on all orders in Australia
Over 7 million books in stock
We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
The Scale of Perfection By Walter Hilton

The Scale of Perfection by Walter Hilton

Condition - Good
$29.99
Only 1 left

Summary

An invitation to a life of love and prayer. Union with God, in Walter Hilton's eyes, is not achieved in an instant. The transfiguration of the soul is rather the result of perseverance and effort. Hilton sees an unbroken ladder leading upwards from our common human nature to perfect life in God.

The Scale of Perfection Summary

The Scale of Perfection by Walter Hilton

This book is an invitation to a life of love and prayer. Walter Hilton was a 14th-century English mystic in the tradition of Roland Rolle and Julian of Norwich. Union with God, in Walter Hilton's eyes, is not achieved in an instant. The transfiguration of the soul is rather the result of perseverance and effort. Hilton sees an unbroken ladder leading upwards from our common human nature to perfect life in God. The ascent of the soul up the ladder is gradual, conditioned by God's grace and the individual's determination, whatever the hardships experienced. The result is the transformation of the soul from a dark, false image into the beauty of a child of God. The book is adapted for the modern reader.

Additional information

GOR001690469
The Scale of Perfection by Walter Hilton
Used - Good
Paperback
Hodder & Stoughton General Division
1992-11-05
224
0340544937
9780340544938
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - The Scale of Perfection