Free Shipping In the UK
Murder in the Cotswolds By A. B. Guthrie, Jr.

Murder in the Cotswolds
by A. B. Guthrie, Jr.

In Stock
The last in the series of murder mysteries featuring Chick Charleston, this time set in an English village in the Cotswolds.
Only 1 left

Murder in the Cotswolds Summary

Murder in the Cotswolds by A. B. Guthrie, Jr.

In the latest in his series of light-hearted stories, A. B. Guthrie transplants Midbury, Montana, sleuth Chick Charleston to a brand-new setting, a quiet English village in the Cotswolds. Chick and his wife, Geeta, are vacationing at the Ram's Head Inn, a quaint hotel in beautiful Upper Beechwood, where Geeta plans to trace her ancestors, but when an unpopular guest checks out early with a knife in his back, Chick gets involved in the search for the killer. Accustomed to the authority of a badge, Chick unfortunately can only assist with the investigation being run by Detective Chief Inspector Fred Perkins and his vindictive supervisor, Superintendent Hawley, whose style of police work doesn't always agree with Chick's. But Chick's Montana experience and good common sense serve him well as he unravels more than one English mystery. Full of the quirky characters and dry wit for which Guthrie is famous, Murder in the Cotswolds is a welcome addition to the series that the Cleveland Plain Dealer has called "just about perfect of its kind."

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the UK
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

Murder in the Cotswolds Reviews

"Limpid prose, tidy plot, and comfy atmosphere with American characters added make this a joy to read."-Library Journal * Library Journal *
"Guthrie is a literary artist. . . . The characters are as real as your neighbors."-Kansas City Star * Kansas City Star *
"A tightly plotted, beautifully worked-out example of the detective story."-New York Times Book Review * New York Times Book Review *
"Guthrie provides humor, suspense, logic, and entertainment in nice amounts."-Publishers Weekly * Publishers Weekly *

About A. B. Guthrie, Jr.

A. B. Guthrie Jr. (1901-91) was a historian and novelist whose 1949 book The Way West won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction. Murder in the Cotswolds is the fifth and final book in his Chick Charleston series, which includes Wild Pitch, The Genuine Article, No Second Wind, and Playing Catch-Up, all available in Bison Books editions.

Table of Contents

[no TOC; 24 numbered chapters]

Additional information

Murder in the Cotswolds by A. B. Guthrie, Jr.
A. B. Guthrie, Jr.
Used - Very Good
University of Nebraska Press
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.