Cart
  • Free Shipping on all orders in the UK
  • Over 7 million books in stock
  • Proud to be B-Corp
  • We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
  • Over 120,000 Trustpilot reviews
Item 1 of 0
The Boy at the Door By Alex Dahl

The Boy at the Door by Alex Dahl

New RRP £7.99
Condition - Like New
£2.99
Only 1 left

Summary

What would you do for the perfect life? Would you lie? Would you cheat? Would you kill? When Cecilia ends up looking after a boy with no home, dark secrets from her past force their way to surface...

The Boy at the Door Summary

The Boy at the Door by Alex Dahl

A brilliant, twisty psychological thriller. Perfect for fans of Friend Request, He Said/She Said and A Simple Favour.

'Unsettling, layered, bold, unpredictable, dark. EXCELLENT' Will Dean, author of Dark Pines.

'Grips like a vice ... REMARKABLE' Crime Time.

Everyone has secrets. Even those who seem to be perfect...

On a rainy October evening, Cecilia Wilborg - loving wife, devoted mother, tennis club regular - is waiting for her kids to finish their swimming lesson. It's been a long day. She can almost taste the crisp, cold glass of Chablis she'll pour for herself once the girls are tucked up in bed.

But what Cecilia doesn't know, is that this is the last time life will feel normal. Tonight she'll be asked to drop a little boy home, a simple favour that will threaten to expose her deepest, darkest secret...

'STUNNING ... Intricate and twisted with dark secrets emerging at every turn' ALEXANDRA BURT, author of Sunday Times bestseller Little Girl Gone.

'Heartbreaking and HEAD-SPINNING' MARY TORJUSSEN, author of Gone Without a Trace.

The Boy at the Door Reviews

'Stunning ... an extraordinary plot; intricate and twisted with dark secrets emerging at every turn. An engaging mystery with an ending you won't see coming' -- Alexandra Burt
'Atmospheric and beautifully written ... combines complex and believable characters with a heart-breaking and head-spinning plot' -- Mary Torjussen
'Dahl savagely delineates the price of living in a society that insists women must try to be perfect wives and mothers and have successful careers, too, or they'll be inevitably made to feel they're never good enough' * Publishers Weekly (starred review) *
'Unsettling, layered, bold, unpredictable, dark. EXCELLENT' -- Will Dean
'A novel of remarkable accomplishment that sets its nuanced and intriguing characters in the context of a plot that grips like a vice' * Crime Time *
'A riveting psychological thriller' * Excelle magazine *
'Alex Dahl's sharp characterisations make her story feel fresh' * Sunday Express *
'[Dahl] adds some twisted black humour and creates a tense narration that will keep readers intrigued and wondering how to approach the main character' * Crime Review *
'A rollicking great read ... [Cecilia] is a fascinating character who lies relentlessly, with reckless abandon, in a desperate bid to protect the big secret she's hiding' * Connaught Telegraph. *

About Alex Dahl

Alex Dahl is a half-American, half-Norwegian author. Born in Oslo, she studied Russian and German linguistics with international studies, then went on to complete an MA in creative writing at Bath Spa University and an MSc in business management at Bath University. A committed Francophile, Alex loves to travel, and has so far lived in Moscow, Paris, Stuttgart, Sandefjord, Switzerland, Bath and London. Her second thriller, The Heart Keeper will be published later this year.

Additional information

GOR010541881
9781786699251
1786699257
The Boy at the Door by Alex Dahl
Used - Like New
Paperback
Head of Zeus
2019-01-10
384
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
The book has been read, but looks new. The book cover has no visible wear, and the dust jacket is included if applicable. No missing or damaged pages, no tears, possible very minimal creasing, no underlining or highlighting of text, and no writing in the margins

Customer Reviews - The Boy at the Door