Free Shipping in the UK on over 5 million books in stock
The Trader's Wife By Anna Jacobs

The Trader's Wife

Used Price
£4.79
New RRP £8.99
Free Shipping in the UK
THE TRADER'S WIFE is the first novel in much-loved author Anna Jacobs' wonderful new series 'The Traders', set in the Orient and Australia's Swan River Colony. Perfect for fans of Catherine Cookson.

Only 2 left


The Trader's Wife Summary


The Trader's Wife by Anna Jacobs

Singapore in the 1860s is exotic and yet terrifying for a penniless Englishwoman, alone and vulnerable after her mother's death. Too pretty to obtain a governess's job, Isabella Saunders accepts an offer from Singapore merchant Mr Lee to teach him English and live with his family.

Two years later Bram Deagan arrives in Singapore, determined to make his fortune as a trader. Mr Lee sees a way to expand his business connections and persuades Isabella to marry Bram.

Bravely, she sets sail for a new land and life. But the past casts a long shadow and together she and Bram face unexpected dangers. Will they find a way to achieve their dreams of a successful trading business?

And will their marriage turn out to be more of a love match than they ever could have dreamed?

Customer Reviews - The Trader's Wife


Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the UK
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

The Trader's Wife Reviews


'A compelling read' * Sun on FREEDOM'S LAND *
Impressive grasp of human emotions. * The Sunday Times *
Anna Jacobs' books are deservedly popular. She is one of the best writers of Lancashire sagas around. * Historical Novels Review *
Jacobs excels at creating vivid, memorable characters. * Booklist USA *
Vivid insight into family relationships * Coventry Evening Telegraph *
'A gripping storyteller.' * Sunday Star Times, Auckland, NZ *
This is a fascinating insight into a piece of Australia's history that receives little attention. * Newcastle Herald, Australia on FREEDOM'S LAND *
With more than 50 mostly romance books under her (garter) belt, the author is more than adept at spinning a yarn and her characters, surprisingly enough, are a particularly engaging lot... whose back stories, which run to petty jealousies, domestic violence and even murder, are carried along nicely by Jacobs' pacy writing and eye for historical detail. As romantic fiction goes, this one's a winner. * The Daily Telegraph *

About Anna Jacobs


Anna Jacobs grew up in Lancashire and emigrated to Australia, but still visits the UK regularly to see her family and do research, something she loves. She is addicted to writing and figures she'll have to live to be 120 at least to tell all the stories that keep popping up in her imagination and nagging her to write them down. She's also addicted to her own hero, to whom she's been happily married for many years. She is the bestselling author of over eighty novels and has been shortlisted for several awards, and Pride of Lancashire won the Australian Romantic Book of the Year Award in 2006. You can find out more on her website, www.annajacobs.com or on her Facebook page, www.facebook.com/Anna.Jacobs.Books.

Additional information

GOR010574696
The Trader's Wife by Anna Jacobs
Anna Jacobs
The Traders
Used - Like New
Paperback
Hodder & Stoughton General Division
2012-04-26
432
1444711261
9781444711264
Short-listed for Australian Romantic Novel of the Year 2012 (UK)
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
The book has been read, but looks new. The book cover has no visible wear, and the dust jacket is included if applicable. No missing or damaged pages, no tears, possible very minimal creasing, no underlining or highlighting of text, and no writing in the margins.