Cart
  • Free Shipping on all orders in the UK
  • Over 7 million books in stock
  • Proud to be B-Corp
  • We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
  • Over 120,000 Trustpilot reviews
Item 1 of 0
Code Name Helene : Inspired by the gripping true story of World War 2 spy Nancy Wake By Ariel Lawhon

Code Name Helene : Inspired by the gripping true story of World War 2 spy Nancy Wake by Ariel Lawhon

Condition - New
£9.79
Only 4 left

Summary

A gripping, heartrending novel based on the astonishing true story of wartime spy Nancy Wake, by New York Times bestselling author Ariel Lawhon.

Code Name Helene : Inspired by the gripping true story of World War 2 spy Nancy Wake Summary

Code Name Helene : Inspired by the gripping true story of World War 2 spy Nancy Wake by Ariel Lawhon

Woman. Wife. Smuggler. Spy . . .

TV SERIES IN DEVELOPMENT STARRING ELIZABETH DEBICKI (TENET, THE CROWN) AS NANCY WAKE

A thrilling and heart-wrenching novel inspired by the astonishing real life story of Nancy Wake. Perfect for fans of Suzanne Goldring's MY NAME IS EVA, Kate Quinn's THE ALICE NETWORK and Imogen Kealey's LIBERATION, soon to be a blockbuster movie.

'Lawhon breathes new life into Nancy Wake's extraordinary story. Rich and thoroughly researched, an exciting, well-written account of wartime valour and the protagonist's qualities shine through' The Times

'This is the next book I won't be able to stop talking about...so, so good!' 5 stars (Goodreads reviewer)

'Readers will be transfixed by this story of a woman who should be a household name' Library Journal

'A gripping thriller based on the life of Nancy Wake... Will keep readers turning the pages' Publishers Weekly

In 1936, foreign correspondent, Nancy Wake, witnesses first-hand the terror of Hitler's rise in Europe. No sooner has Nancy met, fallen in love with and agreed to marry French industrialist Henri Fiocca, than the Germans invade France and force her to take on her first code name of many. The Gestapo call her the White Mouse for her remarkable ability to evade capture when smuggling Allied soldiers across borders. She becomes Helene when she leaves France to train in espionage with an elite special forces group in London. Then, when she returns to France, she is the deadly Madame Andree. But the closer France gets to liberation, the more exposed Nancy - and the people she loves - will become.

Inspired by true wartime events, Code Name Helene is a gripping and moving story of extraordinary courage, unfaltering resolve, remarkable sacrifice - and enduring love.

Just some of the 5-star reader reviews for Code Name Helene:

'I finished this a few weeks ago and I'm still thinking about Helene . . . exceptional' 5 stars (Goodreads reviewer)

'Will have you turning off phones and TVs and staying up late to read it' 5 stars (Goodreads reviewer)

About Ariel Lawhon

Ariel Lawhon, author of I Was Anastasia (2018), Flight of Dreams (2016) and The Wife, The Maid And The Mistress (2014), is a critically acclaimed writer of historical fiction. She lives with her family in the rolling hills outside Nashville, Tennessee.

Additional information

NGR9781472275363
9781472275363
1472275365
Code Name Helene : Inspired by the gripping true story of World War 2 spy Nancy Wake by Ariel Lawhon
New
Paperback
Headline Publishing Group
2021-02-02
464
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a new book - be the first to read this copy. With untouched pages and a perfect binding, your brand new copy is ready to be opened for the first time

Customer Reviews - Code Name Helene : Inspired by the gripping true story of World War 2 spy Nancy Wake