Free Shipping in the UK on over 5 million books in stock
High Hopes (The Hopkins Family Saga, Book 4) By Billy Hopkins

High Hopes (The Hopkins Family Saga, Book 4)

Used Price
£9.19
Free Shipping in the UK
Billy Hopkins' irresistible tale of northern life in the 1940s - nostalgic and warm-hearted. A must-read for fans of Lyn Andrews and Kate Thompson.
Reviews:

Only 4 left


High Hopes (The Hopkins Family Saga, Book 4) Summary


High Hopes (The Hopkins Family Saga, Book 4): An irresistible tale of northern life in the 1940s by Billy Hopkins

Billly Hopkins' delightful novel HIGH HOPES is based on his own experiences as a young teacher in Manchester in the aftermath of war in the 1940s. From the author of OUR KID.

It's September 1945 and Billy Hopkins is off to London to train as a teacher, with only ten bob in his pocket. Despite his dad's gloomy warnings that he'll pick up bad ways from the toffs down South, Billy survives two years in the Big City, and returns to take up his first teaching job in Manchester - on GBP300 a year!

The catch is his first class, Senior Four, who bitterly resent the raising of the school leaving age, and are all set to take it out on their teacher. Luckily the kid from Collyhurst has some tricks up his sleeve.

And then Billy meets the beautiful Laura. But is she, as his dad says, 'too good for the likes of us'?

Customer Reviews - High Hopes (The Hopkins Family Saga, Book 4)


Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the UK
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

About Billy Hopkins


Billy Hopkins (better known to his family and friends as Wilfred Hopkins) was born in Collyhurst in 1928 and attended schools in Manchester. Before going into higher education, he worked as a copy boy for the Manchester Guardian. He later studied at the Universities of London, Manchester and Leeds and was involved in school-teaching and teacher-training in Liverpool, Manchester, Salford and Glasgow. He also worked in African universities in Kenya, Zimbabwe and Malawi. Billy Hopkins, author, husband and father of six, died aged 83 in 2012.

Additional information

GOR001414399
High Hopes (The Hopkins Family Saga, Book 4): An irresistible tale of northern life in the 1940s by Billy Hopkins
Billy Hopkins
Hopkins Family Saga
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Headline Publishing Group
2007-12-27
528
0755343190
9780755343195
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.