Free Shipping In the UK
Currency:
GBP £ GBP
A Corpse in Shining Armour By Caro Peacock

A Corpse in Shining Armour
by Caro Peacock

In Stock
£2.99

Duelling, derring-do, and dastardly deeds are all in a day's work for Liberty Lane: the plucky heroine for fans of Georgette Heyer and Sarah Waters's Victorian novels.

Only 2 left

A Corpse in Shining Armour Summary


A Corpse in Shining Armour by Caro Peacock

Duelling, derring-do, and dastardly deeds are all in a day's work for Liberty Lane: the plucky heroine for fans of Georgette Heyer and Sarah Waters's Victorian novels.

London. Summer 1839. And the temperature is rising as Liberty Lane takes on her strangest case yet.

Deranged aristocrat Lord Brinkburn is nearing death and his elder son, Stephen, is expecting to inherit the title. But Lady Brinkburn's sudden announcement that Stephen is illegitimate throws the family into turmoil. Tensions reach boiling point between the two brothers, one of whom stands to gain everything, and they come to blows in public - much to the amusement of London Society.

Liberty is engaged privately to get to the truth of the matter, but a macabre murder raises the stakes considerably...added to which she finds her own judgement being undermined by the beguiling Lady Brinkburn. She is only too aware that time is running out - one of the brothers may be next, but which will it be...?

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the UK
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

A Corpse in Shining Armour Reviews


Praise for `Death of a Dancer':

`A terrific page-turner in the tradition of Georgette Heyer, written with great enthusiasm and verve, with a wonderful evocation of the tawdry, precarious world behind the spectacle of the variety stage' Guardian

`A light-hearted and engaging novel' TLS

Praise for `Death at Dawn'

`Great period detail and heaps of energy... feisty' Daily Mirror

`Echoes of Georgette Heyer... well-crafted... an enjoyable romp' She

`Good old-fashioned adventure... romps along at a fine pace...a thrilling murder-mystery' Easy Living

`Some well-described set pieces temper the breakneck pace of the action, and the ending is as satisfying as one could wish' The Times

'Light, easy reading for anyone who enjoys a bit of Victorian mystery' Observer

'An enjoyable historical novel' Woman's Day

`Fast-paced and lively... this historical drama will keep you intrigued - definitely hard to put down!' My Weekly

About Caro Peacock


Caro Peacock acquired the reading habit from her childhood growing up in a farmhouse. Later, she developed an interest in women in Victorian society and from this grew the character of Liberty Lane. She rides, climbs and trampolines as well as enjoys the study of wild flowers.

Additional information

GOR001406702
A Corpse in Shining Armour by Caro Peacock
Caro Peacock
Used - Very Good
Paperback
HarperCollins Publishers
2009-06-25
448
000724424X
9780007244249
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.