Free Shipping In the UK
The Collected Stories By Carol Shields

The Collected Stories
by Carol Shields

In Stock
This title gathers together all of Carol Shields' short stories, some previously unpublished.
Only 1 left

The Collected Stories Summary

The Collected Stories by Carol Shields

For the first time all of Carol Shields' remarkable short stories -- some previously unpublished -- are gathered together in one volume. In The Collected Stories we bring together Carol Shields original short story volumes: Various Miracles, The Orange Fish and Dressing Up for the Carnival. Some of the stories in these individual collections have never before been published in the UK, and we add to these wonderful shorter fictions a chapter from Carol Shields' last, unfinished, novel Segue. In these stories the author combines the dazzling viruosity and wise maturity that won so many readers to her prize-winning novels such as The Stone Diaries and Unless.

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the UK
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

The Collected Stories Reviews

'Her perceptions are so quick, her style is so acute, that she can tack a breath to the page and skewer a thought on the wing. It is her speciality to isolate moments that remain distinct in the mind for years, perhaps for a lifetime.' Hilary Mantel, Sunday TimeShields is about the best we have, she does not just express what oft was thought; she snags the shadows of those thoughts, the thoughts we did not know we had. The effect -- at once elating and visceral -- feels like a conjurer pulling a handkerchief from your heart.' Daily Telegraph

About Carol Shields

Carol Shields's novels include Unless (2003), Larry's Party (1997), winner of the 1998 Orange Prize; The Stone Diaries (1993), winner of the Pulitzer Prize and shortlisted for the Booker Prize; The Republic of Love (1992); Happenstance (1991) and Mary Swann (1990). Dressing Up for the Carnival, a bestselling collection of short stories, was published in 2000, and a previous collection, Various Miracles, was published in 1994. Born and brought up in Chicago, Carol Shields lived in Canada from 1957 until her death in 2003.

Additional information

The Collected Stories by Carol Shields
Carol Shields
Used - Very Good
HarperCollins Publishers
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.