WorldOfBooks
Free Delivery In the UK
Currency:
GBP £ GBP
The Year of The Rat By Clare Furniss

The Year of The Rat
by Clare Furniss

Full of bittersweet humour and heartbreaking honesty about loss, love and learning to move on, perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult and Maggie O'Farrell.
8 in stock

Add to Wishlist

The Year of The Rat Summary


'Beautifully written' The Stylist 'You'll laugh, you'll cry, you'll love this book' The Sun 'Lingers in the mind long after the final word has been read' Malorie Blackman, former Children's Laureate 'I always thought you'd know, somehow, if something terrible was going to happen. I thought you'd sense it, like when the air goes damp and heavy before a storm and you know you'd better hide yourself away somewhere safe until it all blows over. But it turns out it's not like that at all. There's no scary music playing in the background like in films. No warning signs. Not even a lonely magpie. One for sorrow, Mum used to say. Quick, look for another.' The world can tip at any moment ... a fact that fifteen-year-old Pearl is all too aware of when her mum dies after giving birth to her baby sister. Told across the year following her mother's death, Pearl's story is full of bittersweet humour and heartbreaking honesty about how you deal with grief that cuts you to the bone, as she tries not only to come to terms with losing her mum, but also the fact that her sister - The Rat - is a constant reminder of why her mum is no longer around... Shortlisted for the Branford Boase prize and longlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal, this breataking novel from YA bookprize shortlisted author Clare Furniss, will make you laugh, cry and hold your loved ones a little bit tighter. Perfect for fans of Jenny Downham,Meg Rosoff and Sara Barnard.

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the UK
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

Additional information

Sku
GOR006185623
Title
The Year of The Rat
Author
Condition
Very Good
Binding type
Paperback
Publisher
Simon & Schuster Ltd
Year published
Number of pages
352
ISBN 10
1471120287
ISBN 13
9781471120282
Prizes
Short-listed for Branford Boase Award 2015
Cover note
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual cover or edition may vary.
Note
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.