Cart
Free Shipping on all orders in the UK
Over 7 million books in stock
We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
Insatiable By Daisy Buchanan

Insatiable by Daisy Buchanan

Condition - Like New
£9.49
Out of stock

Summary

Introducing the first novel from award-winning journalist and writer Daisy Buchanan. Tender, funny, messy, frank and shocking, it is perfect for fans of Fleabag, Queenie, and Adults.

Insatiable Summary

Insatiable: 'A frank, funny account of 21st-century lust' Independent by Daisy Buchanan

'Extremely funny, touching and wonderfully refreshing on women and sexual desire' Marian Keyes

'You will be intoxicated by this witty and honest exploration of female desire' Elle

'As filthy as it is funny, you won't be able to put it down' Dolly Alderton

'Insatiable is a story about loneliness and trying to fit in, about our desire to be loved and included, how it's easy to confuse being wanted with being used. It'll draw people in with the shagging, but people will stay because they're rooting for Violet.' Evening Standard

A Grazia, Stylist, Cosmo, i paper, Red and Independent book of the year for 2021

Stuck in a dead-end job, broken-hearted, broke and estranged from her best friend: Violet's life is nothing like she thought it would be. She wants more - better friends, better sex, a better job - and she wants it now.

So, when Lottie - who looks like the woman Violet wants to be when she grows up - offers Violet the chance to join her exciting start-up, she bites. Only it soon becomes clear that Lottie and her husband Simon are not only inviting Violet into their company, they are also inviting her into their lives.

Seduced by their townhouse, their expensive candles and their Friday-night sex parties, Violet cannot tear herself away from Lottie, Simon or their friends. But is this really the more Violet yearns for? Will it grant her the satisfaction she is so desperately seeking?

Insatiable is about women and desire - lust, longing and the need to be loved. It is a story about being unable to tell whether you are running towards your future or simply running away from your past. The result is at once tender and sad, funny and hopeful.

*

'Filthy, funny, and raw, Insatiable is utterly addictive' Louise O'Neill

'Come for the absolute filth and stay for the empathetic and sensitive way that Daisy Buchanan writes about all the chaos and conflict of being a young woman in a hard-edged, hard-faced world.' Red

'A piercing insight into the unreal demands modern women place on themselves and told with real humour and energy, we love this book so much' Stylist

'A raucous unravelling of female desire and bodily pleasures, in all their maddening complexity' Emma Jane Unsworth

'Few books out in the early half of the year are as flat-out entertaining as Buchanan's fizzy, filthy story of a young woman's sexual awakening.' i paper

'I'd call Insatiable Jilly Cooper for the Instagram generation, but that wouldn't do this book justice' Lauren Bravo

'Daisy brings characters to life like no other writer, pumping them full of humour, vulnerability and sexy sexy sex' Lucy Vine

'Gloriously rude and brave about the nature of women's desire' Sophia Money-Coutts

'I raced through this funny, filthy and utterly compelling debut about female sexuality, ambition and vulnerability... I'm still thinking about it long after turning the final page.' Daily Mail

'I can't believe this is a fiction debut - she writes stories like she's been doing it for fifty years' Laura Jane Williams

'Insatiable is an unashamedly filthy and yet deeply sensitive exploration of female desire, aspiration and vulnerability, and Daisy is an exciting new voice in contemporary fiction.' Hannah Beckerman

'It reminded me of Bridget Jones's Diary - if Bridget were bisexual and Daniel Cleaver were a couple who were into group sex.' Julie Cohen

'Erica Jong for the Instagram age.' Keith Stuart

'Intelligent, observant prose that gives a snap-shot of life experienced by millennial women.' Kate Sawyer

'Like going for a drink with your wisest and smuttiest friend' Jessica Moor

Insatiable Reviews

You will be intoxicated by this witty and honest exploration of female desire * Elle *
An escapist romp (with plenty of actual romps to boot) * Cosmopolitan *
Extremely funny, touching and wonderfully refreshing on women and sexual desire -- Marian Keyes
British journalist Daisy Buchanan has somehow managed to distinguish herself from the pack, with a novel that's both smoothly observant and brilliantly, giddily filthy * Irish Times *
As filthy as it is funny, you won't be able to put it down -- Dolly Alderton
Insatiable is a story about loneliness and trying to fit in, about our desire to be loved and included, how it's easy to confuse being wanted with being used. It'll draw people in with the shagging, but people will stay because they're rooting for Violet. * Evening Standard *
Filthy, funny, and raw, Insatiable is utterly addictive -- Louise O'Neill
A piercing insight into the unreal demands modern women place on themselves and told with real humour and energy, we love this book so much * Stylist *
I raced through this funny, filthy and utterly compelling debut about female sexuality, ambition and vulnerability... I'm still thinking about it long after turning the final page. * Daily Mail *
A frank, funny account of 21st-century lust. * Independent *
A raucous unravelling of female desire and bodily pleasures, in all their maddening complexity -- Emma Jane Unsworth
Buchanan is absolutely fearless and one only hopes that there is a sequel on the way * The Gloss *
I'd call Insatiable Jilly Cooper for the Instagram generation, but that wouldn't do this book justice -- Lauren Bravo
Daisy brings characters to life like no other writer, pumping them full of humour, vulnerability and sexy sexy sex -- Lucy Vine
Few books out in the early half of the year are as flat-out entertaining as Buchanan's fizzy, filthy story of a young woman's sexual awakening. * i paper *
Gloriously rude and brave about the nature of women's desire -- Sophia Money-Coutts
I can't believe this is a fiction debut - she writes stories like she's been doing it for fifty years -- Laura Jane Williams
Insatiable is an unashamedly filthy and yet deeply sensitive exploration of female desire, aspiration and vulnerability, and Daisy is an exciting new voice in contemporary fiction. -- Hannah Beckerman
It reminded me of Bridget Jones's Diary - if Bridget were bisexual and Daniel Cleaver were a couple who were into group sex. -- Julie Cohen
Erica Jong for the Instagram age. -- Keith Stuart
Intelligent, observant prose that gives a snap-shot of life experienced by millennial women. -- Kate Sawyer
Like going for a drink with your wisest and smuttiest friend -- Jessica Moor
Come for the absolute filth and stay for the empathetic and sensitive way that Daisy Buchanan writes about all the chaos and conflict of being a young woman in a hard-edged, hard-faced world. * Red *

About Daisy Buchanan

Daisy Buchanan is an award-winning journalist and author. Her non-fiction books, How To Be A Grown Up and The Sisterhood, have received critical acclaim and praise from a number of high profile writers - her fans include Marian Keyes, Nina Stibbe and Dolly Alderton. She has written features and opinion pieces for every major national newspaper and magazine in the UK - she was Grazia's Agony Aunt, Dear Daisy, and a columnist for the beloved smart women's website The Pool. Daisy is a TEDx speaker and the host of the chart topping literary interview podcast You're Booked. She appears regularly on TV and radio speaking about everything from pop culture to feminism. This is her first novel.

Additional information

GOR011255531
Insatiable: 'A frank, funny account of 21st-century lust' Independent by Daisy Buchanan
Used - Like New
Hardback
Little, Brown Book Group
2021-02-11
352
0751580171
9780751580174
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
The book has been read, but looks new. The book cover has no visible wear, and the dust jacket is included if applicable. No missing or damaged pages, no tears, possible very minimal creasing, no underlining or highlighting of text, and no writing in the margins

Customer Reviews - Insatiable