Free Shipping In the UK
The Modfather By David Lines

The Modfather
by David Lines

In Stock
£5.99
Paul Weller became the blueprint for David's life, and he followed his music and his style with the fervour of a truly devoted fan - to the bemusement of his long-suffering family.
9 in stock

The Modfather Summary


The Modfather: My Life with Paul Weller by David Lines

When David Lines first heard This is the Modern World by The Jam, it sparked off a love affair that continues to this day. Paul Weller became the blueprint for David's life, and he followed his music and his style with the fervour of a truly devoted fan - to the bemusement of his long-suffering family. At once disarmingly candid and hilariously funny, this is the story of what it means to have a hero, its pleasures and pitfalls. Illustrating his memoir with landmark songs from The Jam and The Style Council, David maps out the occasionally bizarre events in the life of an obsessive fan and wannabe writer. From Player's Navy Cut to Gitanes, boating blazers to cashmere sweaters, The Modfather is about acquiring style, finding substance and living life with Paul Weller.

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the UK
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

The Modfather Reviews


"A great concept and an interesting read ... and I'm flattered!" -- Paul Weller
"This is a wonderful account of an adolescence and an obsession. It is extraordinarily frank, often painful, frequently very moving, and, above all, consistently hilarious." -- David Nobbs
"A charming book packed with musical nostalgia, embarrassing misadventure and formative drinking experiences. Fans of Andrew Collins and Nick Hornby will approve" * Q *
"The Modfather fizzes with nail-biting obsession, heartbreak and ear ticklingly funny adolescent misunderstandings" * MOJO *

About David Lines


David Lines was born in 1967 and moved to Leeds when he was eleven years old. He left school with two 'O' levels and has worked in bookselling and advertising. He is currently working with David Nobbs to adapt The Fall and Rise of Reginald Perrin for the West End. David lives in Easingwold, near York, with his wife and daughter.

Additional information

GOR000989202
The Modfather: My Life with Paul Weller by David Lines
David Lines
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Cornerstone
2007-07-05
368
0099476592
9780099476597
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.