Free Shipping In the UK
Christmas Delivery | Want Free Shipping in time for Christmas? Order by midday on 16th December (UK only)
Gb84 By David Peace

by David Peace

In Stock
The 1984 miners' strike brought to vivid, painful and dramatic life by David Peace. Here he describes the entire civil war, with corruption from government to boardroom, and all the tumultuous violence, passion and dirty tricks.
Only 2 left

Gb84 Summary

Gb84 by David Peace

A major new novel from one of Granta's Best of Young British Novelists 2003. Famous for his visceral sequence of novels, The Red Riding Quartet, and acclaimed as the most gifted and original crime writer to have emerged since James Ellroy, in GB84 David Peace turns his talents to the most wrenching, socially devastating and unhappy struggle of the past half century in Britain: the 1984 miner's strike. In his signature clipped prose and through a kaleidoscopic whirl of characters and perspectives, Peace describes the boardroom and coalfield battles; the struggle for influence in government and the dwindling powers of the union; and the corruption, intrigue and dirty tricks which run through the whole like a fault in a seam of coal.

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the UK
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

Gb84 Reviews

"'We will see much discussion of the strike this year... None will be more atmospheric, affecting, thoughtprovoking and readable than GB84.' Yorkshire Post; 'A conspiracy thriller laced with apocalyptic poetry.' Independent; 'The British James Ellroy, Peace has also moved from the crime genre to a broader, bloodier canvas, excavating the dank world of Eighties politics.' Jack; 'GB84 is a crowded, ambitious, quick-moving novel, and as such is the literary equal of the epic events it commemorates.' Terry Eagleton, Guardian; 'An enormously significant novel.... It's hard to think of another writer who could capture that picture so suggestively and so thrillingly.' Sunday Times; 'Haunting, seminal, bleak, iconic, furied.' Observer"

About David Peace

David Peace - named in 2003 as one of Granta's Best of Young British Novelists - was born and brought up in Yorkshire. He is the author of the Red Riding Quartet (Nineteen Seventy Four, Nineteen Seventy Seven, Nineteen Eighty and Nineteen Eighty Three) which has been adapted into a three part Channel 4 series to be aired in Spring 2009, GB84 which was awarded the James Tait Black Memorial Award, and The Damned Utd, the film version of which (adapted by Peter Morgan and starring Michael Sheen) will also be released in Spring 2009. Tokyo Year Zero, the first part of his Tokyo Trilogy, was released in 2007.

Additional information

Gb84 by David Peace
David Peace
Used - Very Good
Faber & Faber
Winner of James Tait Black Memorial Book Prize: Fiction 2005
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.