Free Shipping In the UK
Where the Crawdads Sing Where the Crawdads Sing By Delia Owens

Where the Crawdads Sing
by Delia Owens

In Stock
£7,99
Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Celeste Ng, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder.
Only 1 left

Where the Crawdads Sing Summary


Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

*The multi-million copy bestseller*
Soon to be a major film

A Number One New York Times Bestseller

'Painfully beautiful' New York Times
'Unforgettable . . . as engrossing as it is moving' Daily Mail
'A rare achievement' The Times
'I can't even express how much I love this book!' Reese Witherspoon

-------------------------------------------------


For years, rumors of the 'Marsh Girl' have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life - until the unthinkable happens.

-------------------------------------------------
'[It] will reach a huge audience though the writer's old-fashioned talents for compelling character, plotting and landscape description' The Guardian
'For sheer escapism pick up Where The Crawdads Sing . . . there is writing that takes your breath away' The Times
'All is not as it seems in this heartbreaking coming-of-age bestseller' The i newspaper

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the UK
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

Where the Crawdads Sing Reviews


A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature . . . Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders-and dangers-of her private world * New York Times Book Review *
Part murder-mystery, part coming-of-age novel, its evocation of the marshland and its inhabitants is as unforgettable as Kya herself. A story of loneliness, survival and love that's as engrossing as it is moving * Daily Mail *
For a debut the prose is impressively accomplished . . . A Hollywood film seems inevitable. Yet it will be hard to match on screen the delicacy of Owens's exploration of the natural world. Kya and her magical little world are a rare achievement * The Times *
Kya is a compelling character, Owen's descriptive prose is lushly impressive, and the twist in the narrative's tail is neat * Sunday Times Culture *
Owens combines high tension with precise detail about how people dress, sound, live and eat - the case studies in her book are both human and natural . . . Surprise bestsellers are often works that chime with the times. Though set in the 1950s and 60s, Where the Crawdads Sing is, in its treatment of racial and social division and the fragile complexities of nature, obviously relevant to contemporary politics and ecology. But these themes will reach a huge audience though the writer's old-fashioned talents for compelling character, plotting and landscape description * the Guardian *
For sheer escapism pick up Where The Crawdads Sing . . . there is writing that takes your breath away * The Times (separate review) *
All is not as it seems in this heartbreaking coming-of-age bestseller * The i newspaper *
An Amazon Best Book of August 2018: This novel has a mystery at its core, but it can be read on a variety of levels. There is great nature writing; there is coming of age; and there is literature. Crawdads is a story lovingly told-one that takes its time in developing its characters and setting, and in developing the story. You'll want to relax and take your time as well, and when you're done you will want to talk about it with another reader. * Chris Schluep, Amazon Book Review *
Unsettling and tinged with sadness, yet astonishingly fresh, powerful and mesmerising - with a surprising ending that will haunt you. I couldn't put it down * The Lady *
The strength of the story comes from the sympathetic portrait of its heroine who cannot fail to captivate, right up until the surprising end * UK Press Association and Independent I *
Steeped in the rhythms and shadows of the coastal marshes of North Carolina's Outer Banks, this fierce and hauntingly beautiful novel centers on...Kya's heartbreaking story of learning to trust human connections, intertwine[d] with a gripping murder mystery, revealing savage truths. An astonishing debut. * People *
Unsettling and tinged with sadness, yet astonishingly fresh, powerful and mesmerising - with a surprising ending that will haunt you. I couldn't put it down * The Lady *
This lush mystery is perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver * Bustle *
A nature-infused romance with a killer twist * Refinery29 *
Both a coming-of-age story and a mysterious account of a murder investigation told from the perspective of a young girl...Through Kya's story, Owens explores how isolation affects human behavior, and the deep effect that rejection can have on our lives * Vanity Fair *
Heart-wrenching...A fresh exploration of isolation and nature from a female perspective along with a compelling love story. * Entertainment Weekly *

A lush debut novel, Owens delivers her mystery wrapped in gorgeous, lyrical prose. It's clear she's from this place-the land of the southern coasts, but also the emotional terrain-you can feel it in the pages. A magnificent achievement, ambitious, credible and very timely

* Alexandra Fuller, New York Times bestselling author of Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight *
This is a heart-wrenching coming-of-age story, perfect for book clubs * Candis *
A story that's evocative and sad and with a remarkable heroine * Image magazine *

About Delia Owens


Delia Owens is the co-author of three internationally bestselling nonfiction books about her life as a wildlife scientist in Africa including Cry of the Kalahari.


She has won the John Burroughs Award for Nature Writing and has been published in Nature, The African Journal of Ecology, and many others.


She currently lives in Idaho. Where the Crawdads Sing is her first novel.

Additional information

GOR010250727
Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens
Delia Owens
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Little, Brown Book Group
2019-12-12
384
1472154665
9781472154668
Short-listed for Indie Book Awards 2020 (UK)
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.