Free Shipping In the UK
Currency:
GBP £ GBP
The Orphans of Ardwick By Emma Hornby

The Orphans of Ardwick
by Emma Hornby

In Stock
£4.49
After a cold, hard winter on the streets, three orphan children are about to give up hope when an unexpected turn of events brings them to the doorstep of a grand house in Ardwick, Manchester. Fans of Dilly Court, Rosie Goodwin and Maggie Hope will love Emma Hornby.
Only 1 left

The Orphans of Ardwick Summary


The Orphans of Ardwick by Emma Hornby

After a cold, hard winter on the streets, three orphan children are about to give up hope when an unexpected turn of events brings them to the doorstep of a grand house in Ardwick, Manchester. Taken in by the firm but kind-hearted cook, the young friends can hardly believe their luck. But behind Bracken House's impressive facade lies a household steeped in troubles and mystery, with residents above and below stairs battling their own demons and dark secrets. Not everyone is happy about the new arrivals, and soon the orphans' safety is in danger. If they want to stay in the first home any of them have known for years, they must unravel the past and bring hope to the future. Will they succeed? Or will they come to regret ever leaving the mean slum streets they once called home? Emma Hornby's page-turning, absorbing sagas will tug at your heartstrings. Fans of Dilly Court, Rosie Goodwin and Maggie Hope will love Emma Hornby.

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the UK
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

The Orphans of Ardwick Reviews


"A woman's lot was shocking in the 1850s as this Cooksonlike saga brilliantly describes... Have some tissues handy!" * Peterborough Telegraph on A Shilling for a Wife *

About Emma Hornby


Emma Hornby lives on a tight-knit working-class estate in Bolton and has read sagas all her life. Before pursuing a career as a novelist, she had a variety of jobs, from care assistant for the elderly, to working in a Blackpool rock factory. She was inspired to write after researching her family history; like the characters in her books, many generations of her family eked out life amidst the squalor and poverty of Lancashire's slums.

Additional information

GOR010206280
The Orphans of Ardwick by Emma Hornby
Emma Hornby
Used - Good
Hardback
Transworld Publishers Ltd
2018-02-08
416
0593077547
9780593077542
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
The book has been read but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact and the cover is intact. Some minor wear to the spine.