Cart
  • Free Shipping on all orders in the UK
  • Over 7 million books in stock
  • Proud to be B-Corp
  • We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
  • Over 120,000 Trustpilot reviews
Item 1 of 0
Death and the Brewery Queen By Frances Brody

Death and the Brewery Queen by Frances Brody

New RRP £8.99
Condition - Very Good
£4.79
8 in stock

Summary

The twelfth murder mystery in the enthralling Kate Shackleton series set in 1930s Yorkshire. When a dead body is discovered during a garden party at a Yorkshire brewery, indomitable sleuth Kate Shackleton has a complex murder on her hands to solve . . .

Death and the Brewery Queen Summary

Death and the Brewery Queen: Book 12 in the Kate Shackleton mysteries by Frances Brody

'Frances Brody has made it to the top rank of crime writers' Daily Mail

'Brody's writing is like her central character Kate Shackleton: witty, acerbic and very, very perceptive' Ann Cleeves

A call for help

It's the spring of 1930 and Private Investigator Kate Shackleton responds to a call for help from the owner of Barleycorn Brewery in the North Riding of Yorkshire. The brewery's books don't add up, but when the one employee who may know what's really going on meets with a fatal accident, Kate's investigation intensifies.

A second body

On the day of the brewery garden party, amidst celebrations for the newly crowned Yorkshire Brewery Queen, Kate opens the wrong door and finds herself staring at another body - and in danger of asphyxiation.

A secret to die for

It's clear there are secrets somebody would kill to keep buried. And with the Brewey Queen's growing reputation bringing Barlycorn further into the spotlight, Kate's wit, skill and passion for truth are tested to the limits.

Whether you've read the whole series, or are discovering the Kate Shackleton mysteries for the first time, this is the perfect page-turner for fans of Agatha Christie, Ann Granger and Jacqueline Winspear.

What readers are saying about the Kate Shackleton mysteries:

'Kate Shackleton is a splendid heroine' Ann Granger

'Delightful' People's Friend

'Frances Brody matches a heroine of free and independent spirit with a vivid evocation of time and place . . . a novel to cherish' Barry Turner, Daily Mail

'Brody's excellent mystery splendidly captures the conflicts and attitudes of the time with well-developed characters' RT Book Reviews

'Kate Shackleton joins Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs in a subgroup of young, female amateur detectives who survived and were matured by their wartime experiences' Literary Review

Death and the Brewery Queen Reviews

Praise for Frances Brody:
Frances Brody has made it to the top rank of crime writers * Daily Mail *
Brody's writing is like her central character Kate Shackleton: witty, acerbic and very, very perceptive
Delightful * People's Friend *
Frances Brody matches a heroine of free and independent spirit with a vivid evocation of time and place . . . a novel to cherish * Daily Mail *
Brody's excellent mystery splendidly captures the conflicts and attitudes of the time with well-developed characters * RT Book Reviews *
Kate Shackleton is a splendid heroine
Kate Shackleton joins Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs in a subgroup of young, female amateur detectives who survived and were matured by their wartime experiences. As self-reliant women in a society that still regards them a second-class citizens, they make excellent heroines * Literary Review *
Kate Shackleton is an engagingly forthright and indefatigable investigator * Irish Times *
Frances Brody skilfully holds our attention, making us want to read on and then look forward to the next Kate Shackleton mystery * Gazette & Herald *
The series is right up there with Miss Marple * Sunday Sport *

About Frances Brody

Frances Brody is the author of ten mysteries featuring Kate Shackleton as well as many stories and plays for BBC Radio, scripts for television and three sagas, one of which won the HarperCollins Elizabeth Elgin Award. A Woman Unknown was short-listed for the Mary Higgins Clark Award. Her stage plays have been toured by several theatre companies and produced at Manchester Library Theatre, the Gate and Nottingham Playhouse. Jehad was nominated for a Time Out Award.

Frances lived in New York for a time before studying at Ruskin College, Oxford, and reading English Literature and History at York University. She has taught in colleges, and on writing courses for the Arvon Foundation.

Additional information

GOR010916094
9780349423081
0349423083
Death and the Brewery Queen: Book 12 in the Kate Shackleton mysteries by Frances Brody
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Little, Brown Book Group
2020-10-29
368
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - Death and the Brewery Queen