Free Shipping In the UK
The Evolutionary World By Geerat J. Vermeij

The Evolutionary World
by Geerat J. Vermeij

In Stock
£3.59
Adaptation plays a role not only in the development of new species but the development of human civilization. This book offers the next step in appreciating evolution's integral part in our lives.
Only 1 left

The Evolutionary World Summary


The Evolutionary World by Geerat J. Vermeij

"The Evolutionary World" presents a new argument for evolution's broader importance. Adaptation plays a role not only in the development of new species but the development of human civilization, and by understanding how evolutionary theory has played out in areas such as our economic system, our preparation for catastrophes, and even the development of communities, we can learn not just how these systems work, but also what challenges lie ahead. For readers of Richard Dawkins and Jerry A. Coyne's "Why Evolution is True", this book offers the next step in appreciating evolution's integral part in our lives.

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the UK
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

The Evolutionary World Reviews


A wonderfully rich and wise book. Combining an exhilarating zest for life with unusual and acute powers of observation, Geerat Vermeij is also a refreshingly original thinker. His insights into the processes of evolution and their relevance to science and society are striking and thought-provoking. An illuminating book.--Nick Lane, author of Life Ascending: The Ten Great Inventions of Evolution

About Geerat J. Vermeij


GEERAT J. VERMEIJ, Ph.D., is Distinguished Professor of Geology at the University of California at Davis. Vermeij was born in the Netherlands and came to the United States with his family in 1955. He has received the Daniel Giraud Elliot Medal by the National Academy of Sciences and was honored as a MacArthur Fellow. He has published more than two hundred scientific papers and five books and served as editor for "Evolution "and "Paleobiology," the foremost journals in their respective fields.

Additional information

GOR004807277
The Evolutionary World by Geerat J. Vermeij
Geerat J. Vermeij
Used - Very Good
Hardback
St Martin's Press
2011-03-11
336
031259108X
9780312591083
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.