Free Shipping In the UK
Currency:
GBP £ GBP
Christmas Delivery | Want Free Shipping in time for Christmas? Order by midday on 16th December (UK only)
The Search By Geoff Dyer

The Search
by Geoff Dyer

In Stock
£2.99
A fabulous road-movie of a novel
Only 1 left

The Search Summary


The Search by Geoff Dyer

Walker is at a party where he meets Rachel. Two days later she turns up at his apartment. However it's not Walker she wants , but her husband Malory who has gone missing. She wants Walker to find him. So begins this strange, beautiful, road-movie of a novel that takes the hero across the vast landscape of middle America on the trail of a man he has never met. And as Walker's search grows in its weird intensity it seems that somebody else is following, searching for him too.

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the UK
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

The Search Reviews


Praise for "The Search: ""A take on the detective/noir genre in the vein of Auster, Calvino, and Borges. . . . Dyer creates a series of puzzles, which are sure to send some back for a second read. . . . [Dyer's] considerable talents, including the ability to write in other veins, are on display here." --"Publishers Weekly""So it's farewell my lovely and we're off, on a package tour through gumshoe thriller, film noir, road movie . . . and chivalric romance . . . An ambitious, stylish novel." --"The Independent on Sunday""If any British writer can try on the mantle of Calvino, Dyer can. He has a poet's gift with metaphor as well as an ability to grasp ideas, hold them, pass them on." --"New Statesman""As elegant as a mathematical theorem correctly expressed." --"The Sunday Times""Dyer injects an almost magical randomness into what ought to be the most conventional of tales, and gives us Surrealism where we might have expected Dirty Realism . . . Its after-image is hard to erase." --"The Spectator"

About Geoff Dyer


Author of 3 novels, a critical study of John Berger and four genre-defying titles. BUT BEAUTIFUL which won the Somerset Maugham Prize), THE MISSING OF THE SOMME and OUT OF SHEER RAGE and YOGA FOR PEOPLE WHO CAN'T BE BOTHERED TO DO IT. His book of essays, ANGLO-ENGLISH ATTITUDES, was also critically acclaimed.

Additional information

GOR001401926
The Search by Geoff Dyer
Geoff Dyer
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Little, Brown Book Group
2004-03-04
192
0349116245
9780349116242
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.