WorldOfBooks
Free Delivery In the UK
Currency:
GBP £ GBP
Burial Rites By Hannah Kent

Burial Rites
by Hannah Kent

Inspired by a true story, Burial Rites follows the final days of a young woman accused of murder in Iceland in 1829.
We have 14 items

Add to Wishlist

Burial Rites Summary


Inspired by a true story, Hannah Kent's Burial Rites was shortlisted for The Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction, The Guardian First Book Award and The International IMPAC Dublin Literary Awards. In northern Iceland, 1829, Agnes Magnusdottir is condemned to death for her part in the brutal murder of her lover. Agnes is sent to wait out her final months on the farm of district officer Jon Jonsson, his wife and their two daughters. Horrified to have a convicted murderer in their midst, the family avoid contact with Agnes. Only Toti, the young assistant priest appointed Agnes's spiritual guardian, is compelled to try to understand her. As the year progresses and the hardships of rural life force the household to work side by side, Agnes's story begins to emerge and with it the family's terrible realization that all is not as they had assumed. Based on actual events, Burial Rites is an astonishing and moving novel about the truths we claim to know and the ways in which we interpret what we're told. In beautiful, cut-glass prose, Hannah Kent portrays Iceland's formidable landscape, in which every day is a battle for survival, and asks, how can one woman hope to endure when her life depends upon the stories told by others? Burial Rites is perfect for fans of Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood and The Lifeboat by Charlotte Rogan.

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the UK
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

Additional information

Sku
GOR005512731
Title
Burial Rites
Author
Condition
Very Good
Binding type
Paperback
Publisher
Pan Macmillan
Year published
Number of pages
384
ISBN 10
1447233174
ISBN 13
9781447233176
Prizes
Short-listed for Guardian First Book Award 2013 (UK) Long-listed for Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction 2014 (UK) Long-listed for Bailey's Women's Prize for Fiction 2014 (UK)
Cover note
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual cover or edition may vary.
Note
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.