Cart
Free Shipping on all orders in the UK
Over 7 million books in stock
We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
The Duke By Ian Lloyd

The Duke by Ian Lloyd

Condition - New
£14.19
Only 3 left

Summary

A witty and unconventional biography of Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh, in his centenary year - perfect for fans of The Crown

The Duke Summary

The Duke: 100 Chapters in the Life of Prince Philip by Ian Lloyd

The Archbishop of Canterbury called him 'bloody rude', courtiers feared he was 'a foreign interloper out for the goodies', daughter-in-law Sarah Ferguson found him 'very frightening' and the Queen Mother labelled him 'the Hun'. Journalists have continually portrayed him as a gaffe-prone serial philanderer, with European outlets going way off-piste and claiming he has fathered 24 illegitimate children. Prince Philip says 'the impression the public has got is unfair', though there is no self-serving autobiography and his interviews with broadcasters or writers are done grudgingly. The Duke sets out to explore the man behind the various myths, drawing on interviews with relations, friends and courtiers and the Duke's own words. It brings to life some rare aspects of his character, from a love of poetry and religion to his fondness for Duke Ellington and his fascination with UFOs. It also explains why for over seven decades he has been the Queen's 'strength and stay' - and why he is regarded by many as a national treasure.

The Duke Reviews

A fascinating account of Prince Philip as seen from every conceivable angle. Ian Lloyd demonstrates that there is much we didn't know about this much-loved - and at times controversial - royal consort -- Joe Little, editor of Majesty magazine

Fascinating

-- Victoria Ward, Daily Telegraph

Wonderfully lively

-- Grazia

Jaunty, fun and informative ... a multifaceted account

* Tatler *

Witty [and] well-researched

-- Alice Scarsi, Daily Express

Very readable ... The book doesn't gloss over any criticism of its subject, but reminds us that Philip has lived an extraordinary life that, in many ways, has been far from easy

-- Roland White, Daily Mail

About Ian Lloyd

IAN LLOYD is a full-time writer and former photographer, specialising in the British royal family. Two of his books were Sunday Times bestsellers, and his writing has appeared in the Daily Mail, Mail on Sunday, Hello! and Majesty magazine. He is a frequent after-dinner speaker and a regular pundit on Sky News, BBC News and BBC Radio 5 Live. He lives in Oxford.

Additional information

NGR9780750996082
The Duke: 100 Chapters in the Life of Prince Philip by Ian Lloyd
New
Hardback
The History Press Ltd
20210218
320
0750996080
9780750996082
null null null null null null null null null null
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a new book - be the first to read this copy. With untouched pages and a perfect binding, your brand new copy is ready to be opened for the first time

Customer Reviews - The Duke