Cart
  • Free Shipping on all orders in the UK
  • Over 7 million books in stock
  • Proud to be B-Corp
  • We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
  • Over 120,000 Trustpilot reviews
Item 1 of 0
Our Darkest Night By Jennifer Robson

Our Darkest Night by Jennifer Robson

New RRP £9.99
Condition - Very Good
£6.79
Only 1 left

Summary

A compelling novel of sacrifice and survival, love and hope, set in Italy during World War Two - inspired by true events.

Our Darkest Night Summary

Our Darkest Night: A powerfully moving story of love and sacrifice in World War Two Italy by Jennifer Robson

TO SAVE THOSE SHE LOVES, SHE MUST MAKE THE ULTIMATE SACRIFICE.

In Our Darkest Night, internationally bestselling author of The Gown, Jennifer Robson, tells an unforgettable story of terror, hope, love, and sacrifice, that vividly evokes the most perilous days of World War II.

Inspired by true events. Perfect for readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz by Heather Morris, The Child on Platform One by Gill Thompson and The Girl I Left Behind by Andie Newton.


'A tale of devastating simplicity and poignant sweetness' Kate Quinn

'A powerful, emotional, and unflinching story of love, sacrifice, and resilience' Chanel Cleeton

'Haunting and inspiring, heartbreaking and hopeful, this novel is unforgettable' Kristin Beck


Venice, 1943: Under the Nazi occupation, life is increasingly perilous for Italian Jews. Antonina Mazin has but one hope to survive - to leave her beloved parents and hide in the countryside, posing as the bride of a man she has only just met.

Nico Gerardi was studying for the priesthood until circumstances forced him to return home to run his family's farm. A moral and just man, he refuses to remain a bystander to Nazi and fascist atrocities. The only way to keep Nina safe - and protect secrets of his own - is to convince prying eyes that their sudden marriage is a love match.

But farm life is not easy for a cultured city girl who dreams of becoming a doctor like her father, and Nico's provincial neighbours are wary of this soft, educated stranger. Even worse, their distrust is shared by a local Nazi official with a vendetta against Nico.

As Nina and Nico come to know each other, their relationship deepens, transforming into much more than a charade. Yet both fear that every passing day brings them closer to being torn apart...

Don't miss Jennifer's enthralling historical novel about one of the most famous wedding dresses of the twentieth century - Queen Elizabeth's wedding gown - and the fascinating women who made it. Perfect for anyone who's captivated by The Crown, The Gown 'will dazzle and delight' (Independent).

About Jennifer Robson

Jennifer Robson is the USA Today and No. 1 Toronto Globe & Mail bestselling author of give historical novels, including The Gown. She studied French literature and modern history as an undergraduate at the University of Western Ontario-King's College, then obtained her doctorate in British economic and social history at St. Antony's College at the University of Oxford, England.

To find out more about Jennifer visit her website: www.jennifer-robson.com or find her on Facebook /AuthorJenniferRobson, Twitter @AuthorJenniferR and Instagram @authorjenniferrobson.

Additional information

GOR011117536
9781472280688
1472280687
Our Darkest Night: A powerfully moving story of love and sacrifice in World War Two Italy by Jennifer Robson
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Headline Publishing Group
2021-01-05
384
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - Our Darkest Night