Free Shipping in the UK on over 5 million books in stock
Salt Slow By Julia Armfield

Salt Slow

New Price
£8.99
Free Shipping in the UK
Salt Slow is the electrifying debut collection of short stories about the monstrous in all of us, from a prize-winning new British talent.

5 in stock


Salt Slow Summary


Salt Slow by Julia Armfield

THE ELECTRIFYING DEBUT FROM THE WINNER OF THE WHITE REVIEW SHORT STORY PRIZE 2018

'Thrilling . . . A writer whose next move you wouldn't want to miss.' Observer

'Wickedly clever prose and a sense of humour that seems to loom up like a character in itself' M JOHN HARRISON, Guardian

In her brilliantly inventive and haunting debut collection of stories, Julia Armfield explores bodies and the bodily, mapping the skin and bones of her characters through their experiences of isolation, obsession, love and revenge.

Teenagers develop ungodly appetites, a city becomes insomniac overnight, and bodies are diligently picked apart to make up better ones. The mundane worlds of schools and sleepy sea-side towns are invaded and transformed, creating a landscape which is constantly shifting to hold on to its inhabitants. Blurring the mythic and the gothic with the everyday, Salt Slow considers characters in motion - turning away, turning back or simply turning into something new entirely.

Winner of The White Review Short Story Prize 2018, Armfield is a writer of sharp, lyrical prose and tilting dark humour - Salt Slow marks the arrival of an ambitious and singular new voice.

'Salt Slow is exemplary. A distinct new gothic, melancholy, powerful and poised.' China Mieville, author of The City & The City

'Armfield is an enormous, gut-wrenching talent.' Daisy Johnson, author of Everything Under

'Truly dazzling . . . so subtle, intelligent and imaginative.' Stuart Kelly, The Scotsman

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the UK
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

Salt Slow Reviews


salt slow is exemplary. A distinct new gothic, melancholy, powerful and poised. -- China Mieville, author of The City & The City
Unafraid to venture beyond realism's limits, Julia Armfield refashions our contemporary existence as an eerie, care-worn dreamworld, taking our quotidian anxieties and desires and handing them back to us empathetically remade . . . Armfield is a significant, exciting talent. -- Sam Byers, author of Perfidious Albion and judge of The White Review Short Story Prize 2018
This debut collection is both wild and wonderful, packed with mythical transformations that take place in the most ordinary of contemporary settings . . . vivid . . . visceral . . . marvellous. * Daily Mail *
Reading this collection is the only thing you need to do right now. Reading this collection is the only thing you ever need to do. Armfield is an enormous, gut-wrenching talent. -- Daisy Johnson, Man Booker Prize shortlisted author of Everything Under
Truly dazzling . . . Horror for the Instagram generation. There is a melancholy sense in reading such a wonderful collection of short stories and finding them so subtle, intelligent and imaginative. When I put the book down I wondered: will her first novel be as good? -- Stuart Kelly * The Scotsman *
These exquisitely written stories are like the quietly surreal lovechild of Anne Michaels and Julio Cortazar. Both moving and poetic, salt slow introduces Julia Armfield as a writer to watch and greatly admire. -- Sharlene Teo, author of Ponti
The stories in this collection look at women's bodies and their experiences in society with an eerie, otherworldly lense . . . For fans of Carmen Maria Machado, Sophie Mackintosh and Megan Hunter * Elle *
Remember the name Julia Armfield as this will be the year that salt slow bubbles under then pops up everywhere on best-of lists and literary prizes . . . Visceral, perturbing and exhilarating. * Stylist *
Writers should take risks and Julia Armfield does this fearlessly with stories that unnerve and delight in equal measure. There are echoes of Leonora Carrington and Carmen Maria Machado, but Armfield's distinct voice is her own: singular, visceral and eerie. A hugely impressive first collection. -- Sinead Gleeson, author of Constellations
Visceral, fierce and beautifully unsettling, Armfield's writing has an astonishing power. This collection haunted me with its brilliance. -- Elizabeth Macneal, author of The Doll Factory
Her work has a timelessness to it, and a generosity of emotion that's brave and affecting. -- Chloe Aridjis, author of Book of Clouds and judge of The White Review Short Story Prize 2018
These are brilliantly addictive, barbed, illusive stories. Armfield creates a cleverly unsettling, iridescent world that we are all the better for entering. -- Irenosen Okojie, author of Speak Gigantular
In the tradition of Kelly Link and Aimee Bender, Julia Armfield's salt slow places a surrealist lens on women's bodies, interactions and relationships to expose their mythic, metamorphic potential. Subversive in viewpoint, these stories achieve a simplicity and crispness of tone, setting and story that gives them the timeless, evocative quality of fables. -- Caoilinn Hughes, author of Orchid and the Wasp
'Armfield's debut introduces a significant new voice in contemporary writing; original and challenging . . . each story seems as strange and troubling as a dream; illogical and inevitable, and all the more powerful for that.' * The Herald *
These short stories portray tender cruelties and macabre metamorphoses in wickedly clever prose . . . and a sense of humour that seems to loom up like a character in itself, having been lying in wait in a corner all along. -- M John Harrison * Guardian *
Thrilling . . . A writer whose next move you wouldn't want to miss. * Observer *
Filled with magic, insight, and a rare level of creativity that mark Armfield as a fresh new voice . . . Artistic and perceptive, Armfield's debut explores the ebbs and flows of human connection in lives touched by the bizarre. * Kirkus *

About Julia Armfield


Julia Armfield lives and works in London. She is a fiction writer and occasional playwright with a Masters in Victorian Art and Literature from Royal Holloway University. Her work has been published in Lighthouse, Analog Magazine, The white Review and Salt's Best British Short Stories 2019. She was commended in the Moth Short Story Prize 2017, longlisted for the Deborah Rogers Prize 2018 and is the winner of The White Review Short Story Prize 2018.

Additional information

NGR9781529012590
Salt Slow by Julia Armfield
Julia Armfield
New
Paperback
Pan Macmillan
2020-03-19
160
1529012597
9781529012590
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a new book - be the first to read this copy. With untouched pages and a perfect binding, your brand new copy is ready to be opened for the first time.