Cart
  • Free Shipping on all orders in the UK
  • Over 7 million books in stock
  • Proud to be B-Corp
  • We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
  • Over 120,000 Trustpilot reviews
Item 1 of 0
Happy Families By Julie Ma

Happy Families by Julie Ma

New RRP £8.99
Condition - Like New
£3.19
Only 2 left

Summary

Amy is thirty-four and has just given up her glittering career in the big (Welsh) city to move back in with her grandfather, returning to work in the small-town Chinese takeaway where she spent her bookish and boring childhood. Why? That's a secret she won't tell.

Happy Families Summary

Happy Families by Julie Ma

'Fabulously, witty and warm - what a talent!' Milly Johnson

'A rare find' Richard Madeley

Winner of the Richard & Judy Search for a Bestseller 2020, this refreshing and original debut is perfect for fans of The Rosie Project, Gavin & Stacey and The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry.

Three generations, two secrets, one extended family . . .

Amy is thirty-four and has just given up her glittering career in the big (Welsh) city to move back in with her grandfather, returning to work in the small-town Chinese takeaway where she spent her bookish and boring childhood. Why? That's a secret she won't tell.

Just like the secret of why her grandfather, Ah Goong, and her father, TC Li, haven't spoken to each other in thirty years. Weirder still, they've lived in the same small flat about the takeaway for the majority of those years, with Amy's mother Joan acting as their unfortunate go-between and buffer.

Now Amy's parents have moved, leaving her in charge of looking after the old man. But then Ah Goong collapses in the street and Amy realises time is running out if she wants to play happy families again . . .

Happy Families Reviews

'Fabulously, witty and warm - what a talent!' -- Millie Johnson
'A rare find' -- Richard Madeley

About Julie Ma

Julie Ma was born and raised in Carmarthen after her grandfather arrived in Wales from China in the 1920s. Her parents set up a Chinese takeaway in the 1970s and she took over the business with her brother in 2008. As the child of parents who didn't speak English well, her love of reading and writing came from school and a legendary bookshop called Derrick Williams that allowed children to browse for hours. This her her first novel.

Additional information

GOR011168931
9781787396883
1787396886
Happy Families by Julie Ma
Used - Like New
Paperback
Welbeck Publishing Group
2021-02-18
288
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
The book has been read, but looks new. The book cover has no visible wear, and the dust jacket is included if applicable. No missing or damaged pages, no tears, possible very minimal creasing, no underlining or highlighting of text, and no writing in the margins

Customer Reviews - Happy Families