Cart
  • Free Shipping on all orders in the UK
  • Over 7 million books in stock
  • Proud to be B-Corp
  • We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
  • Over 120,000 Trustpilot reviews
Item 1 of 0
Guardian Of The Dead By Karen Healey

Guardian Of The Dead by Karen Healey

Condition - New
£19.99
Only 2 left

Summary

An innovative urban fantasy steeped in Maori lore from a talented debut author

Guardian Of The Dead Summary

Guardian Of The Dead by Karen Healey

This is an intriguing YA urban fantasy in the tradition of Holly Black and Wicked Lovely. Set in New Zealand, Ellie's main concerns at her boarding school are hanging out with her best friend Kevin, her crush on the mysterious Mark, and her paper deadline. That is, until a mysterious older woman seems to set her sights on Kevin, who is Maori, and has more than just romantic plans for him. In an effort to save him, Ellie is thrown into the world of Maori lore, and eventually finds herself in an all-out war with mist dwelling Maori fairy people called the patupaiarehe who need human lives to gain immortality.
The strong, fresh voice of the narrator will pull readers in, along with all the deliciously scary details: the serial killer who removes victim's eyes; the mysterious crazy bum who forces a Bible on Ellie telling her she needs it; handsome, mysterious Mark who steals the Bible from her and then casts a forgetting charm on her. All of this culminates in a unique, incredible adventure steeped with mythology, Maori fairies, monsters, betrayal, and an epic battle.

About Karen Healey

Karen Healey is a New Zealander living in Australia. She is currently a PhD candidate at the University of Melbourne. She's writing a dissertation on the fan culture of American superhero comics, but her real expertise lies in discerning which of the Birds of Prey is objectively the most awesome (it's a tie between Oracle and the Huntress).

Additional information

NLS9780316044387
9780316044387
0316044385
Guardian Of The Dead by Karen Healey
New
Paperback
Little, Brown & Company
20110901
368
Short-listed for Sir Julius Vogel Award for Best Novel (Young Adult) 2011 Short-listed for New Zealand Post Children's Book Awards: Senior Fiction 2011 null null null null null null null null
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a new book - be the first to read this copy. With untouched pages and a perfect binding, your brand new copy is ready to be opened for the first time

Customer Reviews - Guardian Of The Dead