WorldOfBooks
Free Delivery In the UK
Currency:
GBP £ GBP
The Storms of War By Kate Williams

The Storms of War
by Kate Williams

The first novel in esteemed TV historian Kate Williams's groundbreaking new series which opens in 1914. For fans of ATONEMENT, BIRDSONG and DOWNTON ABBEY.
Only 0 left

Add to Wishlist

The Storms of War Summary


The first novel in esteemed TV historian Kate Williams's groundbreaking new series which opens in 1914. For fans of ATONEMENT, BIRDSONG and DOWNTON ABBEY. In the idyllic early summer of 1914, life is good for the de Witt family. Rudolf and Verena are planning the wedding of their daughter Emmeline, while their eldest son, Arthur, is studying in Paris and Michael is just back from his first term at Cambridge. Celia, the youngest of the de Witt children, is on the brink of adulthood, and secretly dreams of escaping her carefully mapped-out future and exploring the world. But the onslaught of war changes everything and soon the de Witts find themselves sidelined and in danger of losing everything they hold dear. As Celia struggles to make sense of the changing world around her, she lies about her age to join the war effort and finds herself embroiled in a complex plot that puts not only herself but those she loves in danger. With gripping detail and brilliant empathy, Kate Williams tells the story of Celia and her family as they are shunned by a society that previously embraced them, torn apart by sorrow, and buffeted and changed by the storms of war.

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the UK
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

Additional information

Sku
GOR005905233
Title
The Storms of War
Author
Condition
Very Good
Binding type
Hardback
Publisher
Orion Publishing Co
Year published
Number of pages
528
ISBN 10
1409139883
ISBN 13
9781409139881
Prizes
N/A
Cover note
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual cover or edition may vary.
Note
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.