Cart
  • Free Shipping on all orders in the UK
  • Over 7 million books in stock
  • Proud to be B-Corp
  • We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
  • Over 120,000 Trustpilot reviews
Item 1 of 0
The Violent Century By Lavie Tidhar

The Violent Century by Lavie Tidhar

New RRP £8.99
Condition - Very Good
£3.79
8 in stock

Summary

They'd never meant to be heroes.

The Violent Century Summary

The Violent Century: The epic alternative history novel from World Fantasy Award-winning author of OSAMA - perfect for fans of Stan Lee by Lavie Tidhar

'An alternative history tour-de-force. Epic, intense and authentic . . . electric' - Tom Harper, author of Zodiac Station

For seventy years they guarded the British Empire. Oblivion and Fogg, inseparable friends, bound together by a shared fate. Until one night in Berlin, in the aftermath of the Second World War, and a secret that tore them apart.

But there must always be an account . . . and the past has a habit of catching up to the present.

Now, recalled to the Retirement Bureau from which no one can retire, Fogg and Oblivion must face up to a past of terrible war and unacknowledged heroism - a life of dusty corridors and secret rooms, of furtive meetings and blood-stained fields - to answer one last, impossible question:

What makes a hero?

*******************

Praise for VIOLENT CENTURY:

'Vintage Lavie, and also I think his most fully accomplished novel yet. If Nietzche had written an X-Men storyline whilst high on mescaline, it might have read something like VIOLENT CENTURY' - Adam Roberts, author of Jack Glass

'A big, ambitious book that manages to deliver' - Glen Mehn

'An elegiac espionage adventure that demands a second reading' - Metro

'Provides an insight into what it takes to be human, and what can happen when we lay that humanity aside. It's a powerful novel, which will no doubt reward rereading' - Sci-Fi bulletin

The Violent Century Reviews

An emerging master." * Locus *
Young, ambitious, skilled and original. * Christopher Priest, author of The Prestige. *
He is a political writer, an iconoclast and sometimes a provocateur ... Osama is a remarkable and ambitious work. * China Mieville on Osama. *
Where do heroes come from? How are friendships made? What makes us human? These are the questions that Lavie Tidhar grapples with, in this story of friendship writ large upon a canvas that stretches from the 1930s to the present day, in a slightly alternate world where superheroes exists, but heroics mean different things to different people. Choices made in the second world war resonate down through a series of brilliantly detailed cold war scenes, ultimately wrestling with the idea of the self. This is a big, ambitious book that manages to deliver. -- Glen Mehn * http://glen.mehn.net/2013/08/100-word-review-the-violent-century-by-lavie-tidhar/?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=100-word-review-the-violent-century-by-lavie-tidhar *
vintage Lavie, and also I think his most fully accomplished novel yet. Nobody rides that fast-rolling wave separating schlocky pulp and serious literary sensibilities so deftly as Tidhar. He manages to make serious points about the benighted twentieth-century and its obsession with 'supermen' without ever letting the narrative slacken or the adventure pale. If Nietzche had written an X-Men storyline whilst high on mescaline, it might have read something like VIOLENT CENTURY. -- Adam Roberts, author of Jack Glass * blurb *
An alternative history tour-de-force. Epic, intense and authentic. Lavie Tidhar reboots the 20th century with spies and superheroes battling for mastery - and the results are electric. -- Tom Harper, author of THE ORPHEUS DESCENT * blurb *
Dig it, kats and kittens: THE VIOLENT CENTURY is a brilliantly etched phantasmagoric reconfiguring of that most sizzling of eras - the twilight 20th. Lavie Tidhar lays it out like a dystopian dog!!! This book has it ALL: time travel, political intrigue, hellacious history itself!!! You've got superheroes in the guise of regular humans, you've got World War II!!! Viva Lavie Tidhar - "The Violent Century" is a torrid tour de force!!!!! * James Ellroy *
Tidhar has written a fantastic novel... I can't wait to read Osama and anything else of his that I can get my hands on... Definitely recommended. * Civilian Reader *
A love story and meditation on heroism, this is an elegiac espionage adventure that demands a second reading. * Metro *
Provides an insight into what it takes to be human, and what can happen when we lay that humanity aside. It's a powerful novel, which will no doubt reward rereading. * Sci-Fi bulletin *

About Lavie Tidhar

Lavie Tidhar is the World Fantasy Award-winning author of Osama, of The Bookman Histories trilogy and many other works. He also won the British Fantasy Award for Best Novella, for Gorel & The Pot-Bellied God, and was nominated variously for BSFA, Campbell, Sturgeon, Kitschies and Sidewise awards. He grew up on a kibbutz in Israel and in South Africa and currently resides in London.

Lavie can be found online at lavietidhar.wordpress.com or on twitter @lavietidhar.

Additional information

GOR005693209
9781444762891
1444762893
The Violent Century: The epic alternative history novel from World Fantasy Award-winning author of OSAMA - perfect for fans of Stan Lee by Lavie Tidhar
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Hodder & Stoughton
2014-04-24
352
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - The Violent Century