WorldOfBooks
Free Delivery In the UK
Currency:
GBP £ GBP
The Royal Lacemaker By Linda Finlay

The Royal Lacemaker
by Linda Finlay

Just seventeen years old, Lily Rose scratches out a meagre living making lace in Devon, responsible for her siblings following the death of their parents. But opportunity beckons. Hundreds of miles away, in London, Queen Victoria is preparing for her wedding.
We have 9 items

Add to Wishlist

The Royal Lacemaker Summary


A Queen and a peasant - this stunning new saga is the story of a young woman who must find a way to support her family and stay true to herself in the face of adversity. Just seventeen years old, Lily Rose scratches out a meagre living making lace in Devon, responsible for her siblings following the death of their parents. But opportunity beckons. Hundreds of miles away, in London, Queen Victoria is preparing for her wedding. She will wear the most exquisite wedding dress in history, bearing the famous Honiton lace. When Lily is selected as one of the few to work on this top-secret commission it is the answer to her prayers. Lily quickly makes an impression, both as an expert lacemaker and a natural leader of the women working day and night. But there are others who want to see Lily fail, including Squire Clinsden who issues her with a terrible ultimatum - work for him, and be subject to his unwanted advances, or put her loved ones at risk. Torn between her duty and her dreams of a better life, Lily must battle the odds to ensure her family's survival. This wonderful debut saga novel is perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Katie Flynn. As an Image Consultant, Linda has always had an avid interest in people. Helping them to regain their confidence after they've undergone life changing surgery is one of the most satisfying areas of her work. Linda has always loved writing stories and has been published in various magazines and annuals. Moving to the spectacular Devon coast and learning about its local history inspired her to write her first novel, The Royal Lacemaker. She loves beachcombing, finding it the perfect excuse to indulge in a spot of people watching.

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the UK
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

Additional information

Sku
GOR006173749
Title
The Royal Lacemaker
Author
Condition
Very Good
Binding type
Paperback
Publisher
Penguin Books Ltd
Year published
Number of pages
432
ISBN 10
1405918950
ISBN 13
9781405918954
Prizes
N/A
Cover note
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual cover or edition may vary.
Note
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.