Free Shipping In the UK
Currency:
GBP £ GBP
Christmas Delivery | Want Free Shipping in time for Christmas? Order by midday on 16th December (UK only)
Captain Corelli's Mandolin By Louis de Bernieres

Captain Corelli's Mandolin
by Louis de Bernieres

In Stock
£4.99
Following THE TROUBLESOME OFFSPRING OF CARDINAL GUZMAN, a novel set on a Greek island in 1940 about the eternal triangle that develops between a doctor's daughter, her fisherman fiance and a young officer who is billeted in the doctor's house.
6 in stock

Captain Corelli's Mandolin Summary


Captain Corelli's Mandolin by Louis de Bernieres

Extravagant, inventive, emotionally sweeping, Captain Corelli's Mandolin is the story of a timeless place that one day wakes up to find itself in the jaws of history. The place is the Greek island of Cephallonia, where gods once dabbled in the affairs of men and the local saint periodically rises from his sarcophagus to cure the mad. Then the tide of World War II rolls onto the island's shores in the form of the conquering Italian army.
Caught in the occupation are Pelagia, a willful, beautiful young woman, and the two suitors vying for her love: Mandras, a gentle fisherman turned ruthless guerilla, and the charming, mandolin-playing Captain Corelli, a reluctant officer of the Italian garrison on the island. Rich with loyalties and betrayals, and set against a landscape where the factual blends seamlessly with the fantastic, Captain Corelli's Mandolin is a passionate novel as rich in ideas as it is genuinely moving.

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the UK
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

Captain Corelli's Mandolin Reviews


" Brims with all the grand topics of literature -- love and death, heroism and skull-duggery, humor and pathos, not to mention art and religion... A good old-fashioned novel."
-- "Washington Post Book World"
" An exuberant mixture of history and romance, written with a wit that is incandescent"
-- "Los Angeles Times Book Review"
" Stunning... A high-spirited historical romance... Remarkable."
-- "The New York Times Book Review"
" His novel will give pleasure to all sorts of readers. It is also so good that it will last."
-- A.S. Byatt writing in "Evening Standard
"
" Captain Corelli's Mandolin is an emotional, funny, stunning novel which swings with wide smoothness between joy and bleakness, personal lives and history... it's lyrical and angry, satirical and earnest."
-- "Observer
"
" A wonderful, hypnotic novel of fabulous scope and tremendous iridescent charm."
-- Joseph Heller
" It is funny, heartbreaking, and horrifying in its fictional testimony... .Captain Corelli's Mandolin, delightful and sad, comic and at the same time nearly unbearable in its portrayal of European darkness during the war, is a tour de force depiction of the triumph of life over evil by one of Europe's great comic writers of our time."
-- "Booklist
"
" Dazzling.... a fabulous book in the tradition of Tolstoy and Dickens.... So joyous and heartbreaking, so rich and musical and wise, that reading it is like discovering anew the enchanting power of fiction."
-- "San Francisco Chronicle"

"From the Trade Paperbackedition."


"Brims with all the grand topics of literature -- love and death, heroism and skull-duggery, humor and pathos, not to mention art and religion...A good old-fashioned novel."
--"Washington Post Book World"
"An exuberant mixture of history and romance, written with a wit that is incandescent"
--"Los Angeles Times Book Review"
"Stunning...A high-spirited historical romance...Remarkable."
--"The New York Times Book Review"
"His novel will give pleasure to all sorts of readers. It is also so good that it will last."
--A.S. Byatt writing in "Evening Standard
"
"Captain Corelli's Mandolin is an emotional, funny, stunning novel which swings with wide smoothness between joy and bleakness, personal lives and history...it's lyrical and angry, satirical and earnest."
--"Observer
"
"A wonderful, hypnotic novel of fabulous scope and tremendous iridescent charm."
--Joseph Heller
"It is funny, heartbreaking, and horrifying in its fictional testimony....Captain Corelli's Mandolin, delightful and sad, comic and at the same time nearly unbearable in its portrayal of European darkness during the war, is a tour de force depiction of the triumph of life over evil by one of Europe's great comic writers of our time."
--"Booklist
"
"Dazzling....a fabulous book in the tradition of Tolstoy and Dickens....So joyous and heartbreaking, so rich and musical and wise, that reading it is like discovering anew the enchanting power of fiction."
--"San Francisco Chronicle"

About Louis de Bernieres


Among Louis de Bernieres' bestselling novels are Captain Corelli's Mandolin, The Troublesome Offspring of Cardinal Guzman, Senor Vivo and the Coca Lord and The War of Don Emmanuel's Nether Parts. He lives in London.

Additional information

GOR001403156
Captain Corelli's Mandolin by Louis de Bernieres
Louis de Bernieres
Used - Very Good
Hardback
Vintage Publishing
1994-04-11
448
0436201585
9780436201585
Winner of Whitaker Platinum Book Award 2001 Winner of Commonwealth Writers' Prize Best Book 1995 Runner-up for The BBC Big Read Top 100 2003 Runner-up for The BBC Big Read Top 21 2003 Short-listed for BBC Big Read Top 100 2003
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.