Free Shipping in the UK on over 5 million books in stock
The Invitation By Lucy Foley

The Invitation

Used Price
£6.49
New RRP £9.99
Free Shipping in the UK

`The perfect summer read... Gorgeously compelling' Good Housekeeping

`Full of mystery and long-reaching shadows of the past . . . richly drawn and compelling' Rosanna Ley

Reviews:

Only 2 left


The Invitation Summary


The Invitation by Lucy Foley

`The perfect summer read... Gorgeously compelling' Good Housekeeping

`Full of mystery and long-reaching shadows of the past . . . richly drawn and compelling' Rosanna Ley

It's 1951. In Europe's post-war wreckage, the glittering Italian Riviera draws an eclectic cast of characters; lured by the glamour but seeking an escape.

Amongst them, two outcasts: Hal, an English journalist who's living on his charm; and Stella, an enigmatic society beauty, bound to a profiteering husband. When Hal receives a mysterious invitation from a wealthy Contessa, he finds himself aboard a yacht headed for Cannes film festival.

Scratch the beautiful surface, and the post-war scars of his new companions are quick to show. Then there's Stella, whose secrets run deeper than anyone's - stretching back into the violence of Franco's Spain. And as Hal gets drawn closer, a love affair begins that will endanger everyone...

The Invitation is an epic love story that will transport you from the glamour of the Italian Riviera, to the darkness of war-torn Spain. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Victoria Hislop.

Customer Reviews - The Invitation


Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the UK
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

The Invitation Reviews


`A seductive love tale' Sunday Times Style

`Such a tense, intriguing, beautiful, heart-rending story . . . The characters are so real, the research flawless, the setting sublime. Read it!' Clare Mackintosh

`Glamour, secrets and danger makes this a gorgeous summer read' Woman & Home

`Sultry escapist fiction at its best - 5*' HEAT

`The perfect summer read... Gorgeously compelling' Good Housekeeping

`Oozes glamour... Lush, romantic and cleverly crafted - a brainy beach read to relish' Sunday Mirror

`I loved THE INVITATION . . . I could dive into this book. A beautifully complex and vivid story, full of repressed longing and secrets. An absolutely enchanting tale' Lucinda Riley

`A seductive love tale' Sunday Times Style

`So powerfully evoked . . . with dark, sensuous undercurrents that lingered on in my mind, long after I'd reluctantly left Stella and Hal behind' Kate Riordan

`Film crew, Italian Riviera, 1950s. What part of that does not appeal?' Red

`Full of mystery and long-reaching shadows of the past . . . richly drawn and compelling' Rosanna Ley

`This epic love story is an unputdownable summer read' Essentials

`If you like Victoria Hislop you'll love the seductive and heady The Invitation' Lovereading

`An utterly seductive story depicting forbidden love and loss in 1950s Italy. The perfect beach read this summer' Louise O'Neill

`I loved every page - it's vividly written and utterly absorbing' Iona Grey

`Foley weaves a very satisfying love story . . . readers will be taken by the luxurious Mediterranean setting' Publishers Weekly

`Glamorous and romantic and bittersweet all at once . . . a fabulous story' Beatriz Williams, New York Times bestselling author of A Hundred Summers

`It's a beautiful, compulsive and glamorous read - perfect for long summer days' Lucy Clarke, author of the Richard & Judy bestseller, The Sea Sisters

About Lucy Foley


Lucy Foley studied English Literature at Durham and UCL universities. She then worked for several years as a fiction editor in the publishing industry - during which time she also wrote her debut, The Book of Lost and Found. Lucy now writes full-time, and is busy travelling (for research, naturally!) and working on her next novel.

Visit her Facebook page at www.facebook.com/LucyFoleyAuthor and follow her on Twitter @lucyfoleytweets

Additional information

GOR008543493
The Invitation by Lucy Foley
Lucy Foley
Used - Like New
Paperback
HarperCollins Publishers
2017-06-15
432
0007575394
9780007575398
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
The book has been read, but looks new. The book cover has no visible wear, and the dust jacket is included if applicable. No missing or damaged pages, no tears, possible very minimal creasing, no underlining or highlighting of text, and no writing in the margins.