Cart
  • Free Shipping on all orders in the UK
  • Over 7 million books in stock
  • Proud to be B-Corp
  • We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
  • Over 120,000 Trustpilot reviews
Item 1 of 0
We Own The Sky By Luke Allnutt

We Own The Sky by Luke Allnutt

New RRP £7.99
Condition - Like New
£2.99
Only 1 left

Summary

An emotional pageturner with a moral dilemma at its heart for fans of Jodi Picoult, JoJo Moyes and David Nicholls.

We Own The Sky Summary

We Own The Sky: A heartbreaking page turner that will stay with you forever by Luke Allnutt

'Prepare to weep - I defy anyone to read this and not have a tear in their eye.' reviewer, 5 stars

"Anyone who wishes David Nicholls would write faster needs to grab this with both hands." Jill Mansell

An emotional page-turner with a heart-pounding dilemma. Fans of Jodi Picoult, David Nicholls and Jojo Moyes will love We Own The Sky.

Anna and Rob were the perfect couple with their whole lives in front of them. When beautiful baby boy Jack came along, their world seemed complete.

But when tragedy strikes they are faced with an impossible choice. They have one chance to save their child, but at what cost?

"...a touching narrative of first love and fatherhood" The Sunday Times

****

Praise for We Own The Sky

'A beautiful, hugely emotional story.' - The Sun

'A heartbreaking read about love and loss.' - Bella Magazine

'Prepare to have your heart wrenched by this emotion-drenched story.' - Sunday Mirror

'This tender depiction of a father's love for his son is utterly heartbreaking and will stay with you long after the book has finished.' - The Express

'Deeply affecting. A beautiful, remarkable book.' - Lucy Diamond, author of The Secrets of Happiness

Utterly beautiful, heartbreaking and ultimately uplifting. - Rachael Lucas, author of The State of Grace

What an incredible book this is - such gut-wrenching honesty and depth of emotion. Anyone who wishes David Nicholls would write faster needs to grab this with both hands. It's a truly stunning achievement. - Jill Mansell

Beautifully rendered and profoundly moving, We Own the Sky illustrates the lengths we'll go to for those we love. Luke Allnutt is a major new talent in fiction and his debut is not to be missed. - Camille Pagan, bestselling author of Life and Other Near-Death Experiences

*****

What readers are saying about We Own The Sky:

Emotional and moving. - 5* review, Amazon

This is a truly beautiful story told from the heart and written with such great feeling. - 5* review, Amazon

I loved this book for its honesty, it's rawness and for its abundance of pure love. It made me laugh, it made me cry, and it will, I know, stay with me for a very long time. - 5* review, Amazon

We Own The Sky by Luke Allnutt is a story about despair and fear, but it is also sprinkled throughout with hope and love - the love one has for their child and how far you would go for them. A stunning debut and should be on everyone's to-read list this year. - 5* review, Amazon

We Own The Sky Reviews

Allnutt provides a visceral, heartbreaking portrait of a father facing the loss of his 'beautiful boy.' Not the macho loss of football scarves and shared pints, but the inconceivable evaporation of memories, of smells and the warmth of physical contact with our children that can be all too fleeting. * Jem Lester, author of SHTUM *
This book will break your heart, but repair it too. Luke Allnutt's writing is full of compassion. It made me hold my loved ones a little bit closer.' * Katie May, author of THE WHITSTABLE HIGH TIDE SWIMMING CLUB *
Heartbreaking and devastating and complicated, We Own the Sky offers something remarkable: light in the darkest dark and redemption where there ought to be none." * Laurie Frankel, bestselling author of THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS *
Both movingly tender and unflinchingly honest - We Own the Sky is story that will stay with me. * Isabel Ashdown, author of LITTLE SISTER *

Beautifully rendered and profoundly moving, We Own the Sky illustrates the lengths we'll go to for those we love. Luke Allnutt is a major new talent in fiction and his debut is not to be missed.

* Camille Pagan, bestselling author of Life and Other Near-Death Experiences *
We Own the Sky is a heartbreak of a novel filled with love, sorrow, pain, and--ultimately--hope. The characters are drawn so tenderly, with such beautiful detail, that it's impossible not to feel the emotions that pulse through the pages. Powerful, touching, and poignant, this family's love story had me in tears. * Jill Santopolo, bestselling author of The Light We Lost *
What an incredible book this is - such gut-wrenching honesty and depth of emotion. Anyone who wishes David Nicholls would write faster needs to grab this with both hands. It's a truly stunning achievement. * Jill Mansell *
We Own the Sky is a life-affirming yet heart-breaking wonder of a book about love in all its forms. Parental love, with the doubts, fears and joy that it brings and also the headrush of falling in love followed by the tough reality of trying to keep alive the magic once real life rears its head. The writing throughout is fluent and lyrical, full of humour and heart. It is one of the most raw and honest novels I've read in a long time - and yet Allnutt constantly finds the joy amidst the heartbreak - the chinks of light in the darkness. * Katie Marsh, author of MY EVERYTHING *
Deeply affecting. A beautiful, remarkable book. * Lucy Diamond, author of THE SECRETS OF HAPPINESS *
Utterly beautiful, heartbreaking and ultimately uplifting. * Rachael Lucas, author of The State of Grace *
This book brims over with empathy. Rob and Anna's crippling grief is utterly heartbreaking to read. It's at times a difficult read, but I finished it with tears running down my face. This is a book that will get under your skin and stay in your mind for a long time. Beautiful and irresistible. * Clare Swatman, author of Before You Go *
A breathtaking read that describes perfectly the joy and pain that comes with loving fully and all the compassion and forgiveness it requires. Brimming with hope to the very end. * Steven Rowley, bestselling author of Lily and the Octopus *
We Own the Sky is a gripping, heart-squeezing story about how to carry on after losing what we love most. With grace, emotional keenness and a steady moral searchlight, Luke Allnutt guides the reader through the darkest despair and back to hope. A brave and intense novel. * Val Emmich, author of The Remainders *
Absolutely stunning. A fabulous book. * Sheila O'Flanagan, author of WHAT HAPPENED THAT NIGHT *
Echoes of David Mitchell, Jodi Piccoult and John Green * Grazia *
Prepare to have your heart wrenched by this emotion-drenched story. * Sunday Mirror *
Prepare to have your heart well and truly wrenched by this emotion-soaked story. * The People *
A beautiful, hugely emotional story. * Fabulous Magazine *
A heartbreaking read about love and loss. * Bella Magazine *
This tender depiction of a father's love for his son is utterly heartbreaking and will stay with you long after the book has finished. * The Express *
This tender depiction of a father's love for his son is utterly heartbreaking and will stay with you long after the book has finished. * Daily Express *
This sweeping tale of love and loss is a rare find. A wonderful read - but keep the tissues to hand. * The Lady *

About Luke Allnutt

Luke Allnutt grew up in Surrey and has lived and worked in Prague as a journalist since 1998, writing mostly about technology and Eastern European politics. In 2013, he wrote about his father's death from a brain tumour in UNSPOKEN, a Kindle Single for Amazon. A keen runner, he is married and has two young boys.

Additional information

GOR009751403
9781409172284
1409172287
We Own The Sky: A heartbreaking page turner that will stay with you forever by Luke Allnutt
Used - Like New
Paperback
Orion Publishing Co
2019-01-08
368
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
The book has been read, but looks new. The book cover has no visible wear, and the dust jacket is included if applicable. No missing or damaged pages, no tears, possible very minimal creasing, no underlining or highlighting of text, and no writing in the margins

Customer Reviews - We Own The Sky