Free Shipping In the UK
Alice Little and the Big Girl's Blouse By Maggie Gibson

Alice Little and the Big Girl's Blouse
by Maggie Gibson

In Stock
£4.49
Having been sacked, Alice gets offered a job by her best friend Conor, the eponymous Girl's Blouse, working in the cafe he runs with his Ukrainian boyfriend Hector. When immigration pursue Hector, Alice agrees to marry him for a share in the cafe.
Only 1 left

Alice Little and the Big Girl's Blouse Summary


Alice Little and the Big Girl's Blouse by Maggie Gibson

Following the enormous success of The Flight of Lucy Spoon, Maggie Gibson has written Alice Little and the Big Girl's Blouse, a rip-roaring comedy bordering on crime story set in Dublin. 26-year-old Alice Little finds herself homeless and out of a job. Her best friend, Conor - a chef and eponymous Big Girl's Blouse - suggests she comes and works in his cafe, the Samovar, which has free accommodation above it. He runs it with his boyfriend, a large, hirsute Ukrainian called Hector, whom Immigration are pursuing. Conor and Hector offer Alice a deal: if she marries Hector, she gets a cut in the cafe. She agrees and turns it into a roaring success that inevitably attracts the attention of the local mafia. A wicked stepmother, a villainous Godfather figure, a dominatrix and the winner of the Irish County Wife of the Year Award are only some of the characters that make Alice Little a fast, funny and delightful read. Originally from the Poolbeg stable, Maggie Gibson will appeal to fans of Marian Keyes and Louise Bagshawe, at the same time being just a little bit nastier and dangerous.

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the UK
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

About Maggie Gibson


Maggie Gibson lives and writes full-time in Westport, County Mayo

Additional information

GOR003635510
Alice Little and the Big Girl's Blouse by Maggie Gibson
Maggie Gibson
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Orion Publishing Co
2000-03-30
256
0575067888
9780575067882
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.