WorldOfBooks
Free Delivery In the UK
Currency:
GBP £ GBP
Children of the Sun By Max Schaefer

Children of the Sun
by Max Schaefer

A stunning debut novel in the tradition of Absolute Beginners, The Buddha of Suburbia and The Line of Beauty.
We have 6 items

Add to Wishlist

Children of the Sun Summary


1970: Fourteen year old Tony becomes seduced by the skinhead movement, sucked into a world of brutal racist violence and bizarre ritual. It's a milieu in which he must hide his homosexuality, in which every encounter is potentially explosively risky.2003: James is a young TV researcher, living with his boyfriend.At a loose end, he begins to research the far right in Britain, and its secret gay membership. He becomes particularly fascinated by Nicky Crane, the leader of the movement who came out as gay before dying of AIDs in 1993. The two narrative threads of this extraordinarily assured and ambitious first novel follow Tony through the seventies, eighties and nineties, as the skinhead movement splinters and weakens, and James through a year in which he becomes dangerously immersed in his research.James starts to make contact with individuals on far right websites.He starts receiving threatening phone calls. And then the lives of these two very different heroes unforgettably intersect - CHILDREN OF THE SUN is a work of great imaginative sympathy and range - a novel of unblinking honesty but also of deep feeling, which illuminates the surprisingly thin line that separates aggression from tenderness, and that gives us a picture of a Britain that is strange and yet utterly convincing.

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the UK
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

Additional information

Sku
GOR003064879
Title
Children of the Sun
Author
Condition
Very Good
Binding type
Paperback
Publisher
Granta Books
Year published
Number of pages
256
ISBN 10
1847082424
ISBN 13
9781847082428
Prizes
N/A
Cover note
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual cover or edition may vary.
Note
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.