Free Shipping In the UK
Currency:
GBP £ GBP
Sandstorm By Michael Asher

Sandstorm
by Michael Asher

In Stock
£5.49
1950: George Sterling is contacted by a mysterious stranger who has information that could lead him to his son Billy, who was lost in a plane crash over the Western Sahara seven years ago. Sterling must travel to a vast, dangerous desert, accompanied only by a man he barely knows to find his son.
5 in stock

Sandstorm Summary


Sandstorm by Michael Asher

Another dramatic, contemporary novel from the author of Rare Earth. Morocco, 1943: 14 year old Billy Sterling regains consciousness to find himself alone in the desert. Beside him is the wreckage of a light aircraft and the corpse of the pilot. Terrified, Billy soon realises that he is utterly stranded, alone, in a vast and hostile wilderness. He does not see the human eyes, watching him from a distance. London, 1950: George Bridger Sterling is still experiencing profound anguish over the disappearance of his son, who hasn't been seen for seven years. His terrible feeling of guilt allows him to persist in the belief that Billy is still alive. Then George is contacted by a mysterious stranger, who claims to be the co-pilot of the crashed plane, and has information that could lead to Billy -- for a price. Travelling to a vast, dangerous desert, accompanied only by a man he barely knows, let alone trusts, Sterling must retrace the vague footsteps left nearly a decade before. But why was the plane anywhere near the Western Sahara? And why are they not the only people interested in what was on board?The action is fast and furious, from the plane crash to tribal traditions, and the desert scenes are powerful and lyrical. Visually brilliant, with a wonderful range of characters from tribal warriors to double-agents, it will appeal to fans of Wilbur Smith and Andy McNab.

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the UK
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

Sandstorm Reviews


'The best novel of African adventure since King Solomon's Mines.' Jack Higgins

About Michael Asher


Michael Asher served in the Parachute Regiment and the SAS. He lived for three years with a Bedu tribe and made the first west-east crossing of the Sahara. He is the author of 8 non-fiction books, including the bestseller The Real Bravo Two Zero, and 3 novels. He currently lives in Nairobi, Kenya with his wife and their two children.

Additional information

GOR001393361
Sandstorm by Michael Asher
Michael Asher
Used - Very Good
Paperback
HarperCollins Publishers
2004-03-01
294
0007141572
9780007141579
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.