Free Shipping in the UK on over 5 million books in stock
Uprooted By Naomi Novik

Uprooted

Used Price
£4.99
New RRP £8.99
Free Shipping in the UK
From the author of the Temeraire series comes this hugely imaginative, engrossing and vivid fantasy novel, inspired by folk and fairy tales. It is perfect reading for fans of Robin Hobb and Trudi Canavan.

25 in stock


Uprooted Summary


Uprooted by Naomi Novik

A dark enchantment blights the land in the award-winning Uprooted - a enthralling, mythic fantasy by Naomi Novik, author of the Temeraire series.

Winner of the Nebula Award for Best Novel
Winner of the Locus Award for Best Fantasy Novel
Winner of the British Fantasy Society Award for Best Novel
Shortlisted for the World Fantasy Award for Best Novel
Shortlisted for the Hugo Award for Best Novel

Agnieszka loves her village, set deep in a peaceful valley. But the nearby enchanted forest casts a shadow over her home. Many have been lost to the Wood and none return unchanged. The villagers depend on an ageless wizard, the Dragon, to protect them from the forest's dark magic. However, his help comes at a terrible price. One young village woman must serve him for ten years, leaving all they value behind.

Agnieszka fears her dearest friend Kasia will be picked at the next choosing, for she's everything Agnieszka is not - beautiful, graceful and brave. Yet when the Dragon comes, it's not Kasia he takes.

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the UK
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

Uprooted Reviews


Uprooted has everything I love: a great heroine, new takes on old myths and legends, and surprising twists and turns. A delight. * CASSANDRA CLARE *
Uprooted by Naomi Novik is enchanting, in every sense of that fine old word. A charming and inviting story that looks unflinchingly at the strangling roots of hurt and revenge. -- ROBIN HOBB
The magic in Uprooted, with its realistic moral dimension, is so vividly believable that it almost seems you could work the spells. But the book will do that for you. -- URSULA K. LE GUIN
Wild, thrilling, and deeply, darkly magical. An instant classic. -- LEV GROSSMAN
Magical and practical, otherworldly and planted in the real, I could NOT stop reading this book and neither will you! -- TAMORA PIERCE
Uprooted is one of those tales you come back to over and over again because it's just that enchanting. The adventure builds with such tension that you are peeking through your hands at the end, hoping it will all be okay, and Novik delivers a conclusion that's deeply satisfying, earning a permanent space on my bookshelf that I'll revisit often. -- KEVIN HEARN
Naomi Novik's Uprooted is a marvelous fantasy reminiscent of Howl's Moving Castle and vastly superior to The Hobbit. Her characters, setting, and the magic they use are all brilliant. I devoured the book in one reading. Well done! I want more! -- TODD MCCAFFREY
The roots of Uprooted are planted deep in fairy tale lore, but the story that Naomi Novik has coaxed forth is fresh and compelling. It reads like a previously undiscovered origin myth in the best possible way! -- JACQUELINE CAREY
Every so often you come upon a story that seems like a lost tale of Grimm newly come to light. Uprooted is such a novel. Its narrative spell is confidently wrought and sympathetically cast. I might even call it bewitching. -- GREGORY MAGUIRE

About Naomi Novik


Naomi Novik is the acclaimed author of the Temeraire series. She has been nominated for the Hugo Award and has won the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer, as well as the Locus Award for Best New Writer and the Compton Crook Award for Best First Novel. She is also the author of the graphic novel Will Supervillains Be on the Final?

Fascinated with both history and legends, Novik is a first-generation American raised on Polish fairy tales and stories of Baba Yaga. Her own adventures include pillaging degrees in English literature and computer science from various ivory towers, designing computer games, and helping to build the Archive of Our Own for fanfiction and other fanworks. Novik is a co-founder of the Organization for Transformative Works.

She lives in New York City with husband and Hard Case Crime founder Charles Ardai and their daughter, Evidence, surrounded by an excessive number of purring computers.

Additional information

GOR007502968
Uprooted by Naomi Novik
Naomi Novik
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Pan Macmillan
2016-04-26
448
1447294149
9781447294146
Winner of British Fantasy Awards Best Fantasy Novel 2016 (UK) Winner of Nebula Award Best Novel 2016 (UK) Winner of Locus Award Best Fantasy Novel 2016 (UK) Short-listed for Hugo Award For Best Novel 2016 (UK) Short-listed for World Fantasy Awards Best Novel 2016 (UK)
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.