Cart
  • Free Shipping on all orders in the UK
  • Over 7 million books in stock
  • Proud to be B-Corp
  • We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
  • Over 120,000 Trustpilot reviews
Item 1 of 0
The Regenerative Grower's Guide to Garden Amendments By Nigel Palmer

The Regenerative Grower's Guide to Garden Amendments by Nigel Palmer

Condition - New
£12.79
Only 2 left

Summary

Revitalize your garden by making your own biologically diverse inoculants and mineral-rich amendments using leaf mold, weeds, eggshells, bones, and other materials available for little or no cost from local woodlands, fields, restaurants, and markets.

The Regenerative Grower's Guide to Garden Amendments Summary

The Regenerative Grower's Guide to Garden Amendments: Using Locally Sourced Materials to Make Mineral and Biological Extracts and Ferments by Nigel Palmer

I don't often share a resource in this way but when a gem of a resource like this crosses my path I have to let you all know about it. Huw Richards, author of Grow Food for Free

Palmer's book is full of recipes using locally sourced material to create mineral and biological extracts to feed plants. the Guardian

Perfect for fans of Charles Dowding and Huw Richards!

In The Regenerative Grower's Guide to Garden Amendments, experimental gardener and author Nigel Palmer provides practical, detailed instructions that are accessible to every grower who wants to achieve a truly sustainable garden ecosystem - all while enjoying better results at a fraction of the cost of commercial fertilisers. These recipes go beyond compost by allowing you to make your own biologically diverse inoculants and mineral-rich amendments using leaf mould, weeds, eggshells, bones and other common materials available for little or no cost.

Recipes include:

  • Extracting nutrients from plant residues using simple rainwater techniques
  • Extracting minerals from bones and shells using vinegar
  • Fermenting plant juices and fish
  • Culturing indigenous microorganisms (IMO)

Inspired by the work of many innovative traditional agricultural pioneers, especially Cho Ju-Young (founder of the Korean Natural Farming method), The Regenerative Grower's Guide to Garden Amendments also includes a primer on plant-soil interaction, instructions for conducting a soil test, and guidance on compost, mulching and so much more!

The Regenerative Grower's Guide to Garden Amendments Reviews

Publishers Weekly-

For the dedicated organic farmer, [this book] is a gold mine of astonishing methods and new possibilities for growing and maintaining a sustainable and truly organic garden.


Nigel Palmer has come up with a terrific new 'cookbook' for the regenerative (and any other) gardener who desires to build and maintain soil and plant health. The easy-to-follow recipes are designed to satiate any plant's appetite for the appropriate microbiology and nutrients. This guide to 'using locally sourced materials to make mineral and biological extracts and ferments' is to gardening what Julia Child's classic guide is to cooking.-Jeff Lowenfels, author of Teaming with Fungi and Teaming with Nutrients


Nigel Palmer's new book is filled with fermentation methods for the garden. It's an exciting new DIY resource for soil regeneration and plant health.-Sandor Ellix Katz, author of Wild Fermentation and The Art of Fermentation


In a world seemingly focused on the newest miracle from the chemist's laboratory, it is refreshing to find a book that unveils the power of nature in gardening and equips savvy growers with proven tools and formulas to move their practices to a new level. Nigel Palmer makes the art and science of life-enhancing amendments accessible to gardeners everywhere.-Fred Walters, ACRES U.S.A. magazine


The Regenerative Grower's Guide to Garden Amendments is a wonderful book, giving the reader new insight into regenerative horticulture at home-preserving the soil, enhancing biodiversity, and producing healthy food.-Jake Fiennes, general manager of conservation, Holkham Estate


Attention, gardeners! The Regenerative Grower's Guide to Garden Amendments will instruct and inspire. Learn to make targeted mineral and biological garden amendments and sprays with this comprehensive and easy-to-understand manual. Nigel Palmer's guide is a classic in the making!-Sally Fallon Morell, president, Weston A. Price Foundation


Herbal brews and probiotics keep us in good stead . . . so why not the plants we grow for food and medicine as well? Nigel Palmer offers an enthusiastic exploration of fermented plant extracts and organism cultures to keep our gardens and orchards productive and healthy. Indigenous wisdom presented in a scientific light rocks! Making one's own garden amendments not only saves money but is truly the most effective way to grow. Phytonutrients prime plant immunity and friendly microbes protect from disease. Heed this advice and become a savvier grower today.-Michael Phillips, author of Mycorrhizal Planet and The Holistic Orchard


In The Regenerative Grower's Guide to Garden Amendments, Nigel Palmer offers a careful, thorough approach to creating abundance and health in and from the garden. The specifics of innovative and useful techniques, as well as the supporting concepts, are well presented for diligent gardeners to utilize. Nigel's new garden model does a great service in moving forward our ability to feed ourselves in a cooperative effort with nature.-Bryan O'Hara, author of No-Till Intensive Vegetable Culture


Easy, affordable, and garden-tested amendment recipes to help grow nutrient-dense food? Yes, please! The Regenerative Grower's Guide to Garden Amendments made me wonder why I hadn't started making my own amendments years ago. I was barely past chapter 2 before I started collecting egg and oyster shells to submerge in vinegar; comfrey and nettles were already fermenting by the end of chapter 3. Every gardener needs this knowledge!-Chris Smith, author of The Whole Okra; director, The Utopian Seed Project


This book empowers readers to observe nature's processes at work in the food garden, and to become aware of natural resources, such as weeds and leaf litter, that they can use to make their own mineral and biological amendments. Brilliant! Beautifully crafted by a first-rate teacher able to convey his in-depth understanding, passion, and knowledge, The Regenerative Grower's Guide to Garden Amendments will inspire many growers to embark on a never-ending journey of discovery; to grow nutrient-dense food by creating an abundance of healthy ecosystems in the garden.-Matthew Adams, cofounder, Growing Real Food for Nutrition; former director, Good Gardeners Association

About Nigel Palmer

Nigel Palmer has been a lifelong gardener in New England relying on the amazing complexity of nature to inspire his gardening philosophy, as well as working as an aerospace engineer sorting, organizing, and resolving complex technical issues. He is the instructor and curriculum developer of the Sustainable, Regenerative Gardening program at The Institute Of Sustainable Nutrition (TIOSN).

Additional information

NPB9781603589888
9781603589888
1603589880
The Regenerative Grower's Guide to Garden Amendments: Using Locally Sourced Materials to Make Mineral and Biological Extracts and Ferments by Nigel Palmer
New
Paperback
Chelsea Green Publishing Co
20200910
224
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a new book - be the first to read this copy. With untouched pages and a perfect binding, your brand new copy is ready to be opened for the first time

Customer Reviews - The Regenerative Grower's Guide to Garden Amendments