Free Shipping in the UK on over 5 million books in stock
Something to Live For By Richard Roper

Something to Live For

New Price
£8.09
Free Shipping in the UK
With the warmth of David Nicholls and the charm and humour of Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine, Something to Live For explores one man's attempts to let go of the past and start his life afresh.

5 in stock


Something to Live For Summary


Something to Live For: If you loved Eleanor Oliphant, try this brilliant new read: the most uplifting, funny and feel-good novel of the year! by Richard Roper

'A perfect, quirky summer page-turner. A life-affirming debut' The Sunday Times
'Funny, moving and thought-provoking - I loved this' Clare Mackintosh
'If you loved Eleanor Oliphant, try this brilliant new read' Fabulous

-------------------------

MEET ANDREW.

Everybody likes Andrew. But they don't really know him.

They know what he's told them - that he's happily married with two kids. Living the kind of life that's either so boring it's true, or so perfect it's a lie . . .

ENTER PEGGY.

Peggy arrives in Andrew's life in a burst of kindness and possibility. For the first time in ages, Andrew feels alive again. So now that he has everything to lose, can he risk it all and tell Peggy the truth?

A big-hearted story about love, loneliness, and the importance of taking a chance when we feel we have the most to lose.

-------------------------

See what everyone is saying about this summer's most uplifting bestseller!

'A magnificent read. Tender, funny, compelling' Lucy Foley

'Funny, moving and thought-provoking - I loved this' Clare Mackintosh

'I adored this! It warmed my heart, broke it a little, then put it back together' Beth O'Leary

'Funny, moving and uplifting...I loved it' Libby Page

'Heart-breaking. Hilarious. Life-affirming' Holly Bourne

'A life-affirming novel that simultaneously tweaks your funny-bone and tugs at your heartstrings. Brilliant!' Matt Dunn

'It pulls you in, makes you laugh and breaks your heart' Gill Hornby

'Endearing, funny and life-affirming, with a perfect dose of loneliness and human kindness' Caroline Smailes

'Wryly funny and quirkily charming - perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine' Eleanor Brown

'A beautiful, heart-warming laugh out loud story' Dinah Jefferies

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the UK
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

Something to Live For Reviews


The story Roper tells is a charming, humorous and life-affirming tale about human kindness that strikes a chord in a world where loneliness is a growing problem. -- Rebecca Thomas * BBC NEWS ONLINE, Best Fiction of 2019 *
If you loved Eleanor Oliphant, try this brilliant new read... We completely fell in love with this funny, uplifting debut. -- Claire Frost * FABULOUS *
I loved this novel with my whole heart. * THE NEW YORK TIMES *
Endearing and delightful. -- Nina Pottell * PRIMA *
This perfect, quirky summer page-turner... a life-affirming debut. -- Sharmaine Lovegrove * SUNDAY TIMES STYLE *
This is a story that gets under your skin - and a must read. -- Natasha Harding * THE SUN *
A wonderful debut that's heartbreaking, uplifting and laugh-out-loud funny... an inspiring, life-affirming read. -- Zoe West * WOMAN'S WEEKLY *
Something To Live For is a heart-warming, funny yet poignant debut novel. Exploring loneliness and family breakdown, Richard Roper has created a cast of colourful and weirdly wonderful characters. An uplifting and life-affirming read. -- Anne Cater * DAILY EXPRESS *
Eleanor Oliphant for men -- David Sexton * EVENING STANDARD *
This could almost be the tie-in novel for a Richard Curtis romcom... Something To Live For benefits from the same earnest charm. -- Thomas Barrie * GQ *
Richard Roper's debut is heart-breaking, uplifting, funny and brimming with human kindness. * SUNDAY HERALD *
It's no surprise that TV rights to this funny, tender and all-the-feels book have already been snapped up. -- Sarra Manning * RED *
A wonderful debut that's heartbreaking, uplifting and laugh-out-loud funny all at once. * WOMAN'S OWN *
A sweetly poignant debut. -- Eithne Farry * SUNDAY EXPRESS S MAGAZINE *
A poignant but uplifting novel that's related with great compassion and humour. -- Fanny Blake * DAILY MAIL *
Endearing. -- Patricia Nicol * SUNDAY TIMES CULTURE *
A poignant, superbly funny debut novel about love, loneliness and the many ways life doesn't always go to plan. * WATERSTONES *
Funny, moving and thought-provoking - I loved this. * Clare Mackintosh *
Tender, funny, compelling - this wonderful book deserves to be huge! -- Lucy Foley, author of THE HUNTING PARTY
Like everyone else, I completely fell under its spell. It pulls you in, makes you laugh and breaks your heart - in short, does everything that you want a novel to do. Every character is round and real - from dear old Andrew, through the wonderful Peggy - oh, Peggy! - to the anonymous woman in the cloud of perfume who lives downstairs. While it is very much in the David Nicholls' tradition of sympathetic quirk and comedy, it is, at the same time, so fresh and different. I loved the voice, the people, the world..... Who couldn't? What an extraordinary debut. * Gill Hornby *
Just finished Something To Live For with tears running down my cheeks. Heart-breaking. Hilarious. Life-affirming. Some descriptions of loneliness took my breath away. This book deserves to be HUGE. * Holly Bourne *
Warmed my heart, broke it a little, then put it back together -- Beth O'Leary, bestselling author of the THE FLATSHARE
Nick Hornby and David Nicholls' quirky love child would write like Richard Roper. Something to Live For is endearing, funny and life-affirming, with a perfect dose of loneliness and human kindness -- Caroline Smailes
Funny, moving and uplifting... I loved it. * Libby Page, author of THE LIDO *
Wryly funny and quirkily charming - perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove and Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine * Eleanor Brown, author of The Weird Sisters *
A definite contender for my book of the year . . . funny, heartbreaking and cleverly observed -- Claire Frost
A life-affirming novel that simultaneously tweaks your funny-bone and tugs at your heartstrings. Brilliant! -- Matt Dunn
[An] off-beat and winning debut..., [Something To Live For] earns its pathos. Even more to its credit, it gives resiliency and the triumph of the human spirit a good name. * WALL STREET JOURNAL *
Gentle comedy and these characters' innately kind natures enriches what might have been starkly sad moments... [Roper] admirably tackles a painful subject with goodhearted characters it's easy to root for. * USA TODAY *
Darkly humorous. * ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY *
Roper's delightful debut is as funny as it is touching... This story of a neurotic, tenderhearted man struggling to learn how not to be alone is irresistible. * PUBLISHERS WEEKLY *
Tragic, sweet, and hopeful... This novel will appeal to fans of Gail Honeyman's Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine. * BOOKLIST *
Quirky and heartfelt... Andrew's past traumas are revealed gradually, and the reasons behind his isolation are heartbreaking and poignant. A moving and funny look at grief, hope, and the power of human connections. * KIRKUS REVIEWS *
Life-affirming...moments of hilarity while conveying a message about stepping out of comfort zones * GOOD HOUSEKEEPING *
Richard Roper has crafted a compelling mystery in this clever and uplifting debut... Something to Live For is a story about the problems we encounter as human beings and the connections that save us. -- Sarah Gilmartin * IRISH TIMES *
A beautiful, heart-warming laugh out loud story. * Dinah Jefferies via Twitter *
This magnificent debut is a must for your summer reading list - heartbreaking, funny and tender, it has it all! * MY WEEKLY *

About Richard Roper


Richard Roper was inspired by an article he read about the council workers who deal with situations when someone dies alone. Their days are spent sifting through the ephemera of those who've slipped through the cracks, searching for clues to a next of kin. Council workers are under no obligation to attend the funerals. Yet they do, sometimes dozens of them a year, just to make sure at least someone is there.

Richard Roper lives in London. SOMETHING TO LIVE FOR is his first novel.

Additional information

NGR9781409185611
Something to Live For: If you loved Eleanor Oliphant, try this brilliant new read: the most uplifting, funny and feel-good novel of the year! by Richard Roper
Richard Roper
New
Paperback
Orion Publishing Co
2020-07-02
368
1409185613
9781409185611
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a new book - be the first to read this copy. With untouched pages and a perfect binding, your brand new copy is ready to be opened for the first time.