Free Shipping in the UK on over 5 million books in stock
A Winter Hope By Sheila Newberry

A Winter Hope

Used Price
£2.69
New RRP £7.99
Free Shipping in the UK
For fans of Katie Flynn and Sheila Jeffries, The Hope Family Christmas is a heart-warming festive novel from the Queen of family saga, and author of The Winter Baby and The Gingerbread Girl, Sheila Newberry. All they want for Christmas is a new home.

30 in stock


A Winter Hope Summary


A Winter Hope: A heartwarming festive World War II saga by Sheila Newberry

For fans of Katie Flynn and Dilly Court, A Winter Hope is a heart-warming festive novel from the Queen of family saga, and author of The Winter Baby and The Nursemaid's Secret, Sheila Newberry. All they want for Christmas is a new home. Number five Kitchener Avenue heralds the start of a new life for the Hope family. For pregnant Miriam it is a warm, safe environment to bring up her child. For her sister, fourteen-year-old Barbara, it means independence . . . and boys. And for Fred it provides the security he craves for his young family. In the lead up to Christmas, the Hopes settle in, and start to make happy memories in their new home. But World War II is round the corner, and this carefree life can't last. Soon the family are split up. Bar, wanting to do her bit for the war effort, joins the ATS, while Miriam and her children are evacuated to the countryside and away from her husband. As the country is thrown into turmoil, can the Hope family come back together and find the happiness they crave? 'A Winter Hope is a heartwarming novel following two sisters from pre-war to post-war, their parallel stories filled with love and loss. I found myself completely wrapped up with their experiences and shed a tear at the twists and turns of their lives.' Mollie Walton, author of The Daughters of Ironbridge 'I have long been a fan of Sheila Newberry's novels. I love their wonderful warmth and charm.' Maureen Lee, bestselling author of The Seven Streets of Liverpool 'Reading a Sheila Newberry book is like having dinner with your mother in her warm and cosy kitchen. You can feel the love and care put into every juicy morsel' - Diane Allen, bestselling author of For the Sake of Her Family Previously published as The Family at Number Five.

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the UK
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

A Winter Hope Reviews


A Winter Hope is a heartwarming novel following two sisters from pre-war to post-war, their parallel stories filled with love and loss. I found myself completely wrapped up with their experiences and shed a tear at the twists and turns of their lives. A lovely tale of one family by an accomplished novelist at the top of her game. * Mollie Walton, author of The Daughters of Ironbridge *

About Sheila Newberry


Sheila Newberry was born in Suffolk and spent a lot of time there both before and during the war. She wrote her first 'book' before she was ten - all sixty pages of it - in purple ink. Her family has certainly been her inspiration and she has been published most of her adult life. She spent forty years living in Kent with her husband John on a smallholding, and has nine children and twenty-two lively grandchildren. They retired back to Suffolk where Sheila still lives today.

Additional information

GOR010187904
A Winter Hope: A heartwarming festive World War II saga by Sheila Newberry
Sheila Newberry
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Zaffre Publishing
2019-11-14
480
1785761897
9781785761898
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.