Free Shipping in the UK on over 5 million books in stock
The Dark is Rising By Susan Cooper

The Dark is Rising

In Stock
£3.99
'This night will be bad, and tomorrow will be beyond imagining'It's Christmas-time in the Stanton family house: presents, carol singing, good cheer. Then on Midwinter Day, Will wakes up to a different world: silent, covered in snow and ancient forest, a world of another time.
Only 1 left

The Dark is Rising Summary


The Dark is Rising by Susan Cooper

'This night will be bad, and tomorrow will be beyond imagining' It's Christmas-time in the Stanton family house: presents, carol singing, good cheer. But for eleven-year-old Will Stanton, something sinister has begun, inching round his subconscious, shouting silent warnings he can't decipher. Then on Midwinter Day, Will wakes up to a different world: silent, covered in snow and ancient forest, a world of another time. A world where evil lurks. Because Will is not the ordinary boy he always thought he was. He is the last of the Old Ones and the power to vanquish the evil magic of the Dark lies within him. Includes exclusive material: In the Backstory you can read an interview with the author and discover the ancient beliefs that inspired the story. Enter the young adult world of Susan Cooper. Perfect for fans of Mortal Engines and Northern Lights. Vintage Children's Classics is a twenty-first century classics list aimed at 8-12 year olds and the adults in their lives. Discover timeless favourites from The Jungle Book and Alice's Adventures in Wonderland to modern classics such as The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time.

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the UK
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

The Dark is Rising Reviews


"A writer of great integrity and skill, whose influence and importance in the field of children's fantasy will be felt for a long time" -- Philip Pullman
"I wish I had written these!" -- Diana Wynne Jones
"Cooper has been writing richly imaginative works of fantasy for nearly four decades. Her books are critically acclaimed and she has a loyal and devoted following among readers" * booktrusted.co.uk *
"The Dark Is Rising sequence of novels by Susan Cooper must be one of the most imaginative and sustained achievements in contemporary children's literature" * Books for Children *

About Susan Cooper


Susan Cooper is a world-renowned author of children's books. Born and brought up in England, she worked as a journalist before moving to America, where she now lives. Her fabulous The Dark Is Rising sequence has won the Newbery Medal and was twice shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal. Her Boggart titles have won the Scottish Arts Council Children's Book Award and been shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal and the Smarties Prize. King of Shadows was also shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal. As well as writing novels, Susan Cooper writes successful plays, and screenplays for film and television.

Additional information

GOR007766796
The Dark is Rising by Susan Cooper
Susan Cooper
Used - Like New
Paperback
Vintage Publishing
2013-08-01
400
0099583089
9780099583080
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
The book has been read, but looks new. The book cover has no visible wear, and the dust jacket is included if applicable. No missing or damaged pages, no tears, possible very minimal creasing, no underlining or highlighting of text, and no writing in the margins.