WorldOfBooks
Free Delivery In the UK
Currency:
GBP £ GBP
The Crime at Black Dudley (Classic Crime)

The Crime at Black Dudley (Classic Crime)
by Unknown Author

A crime novel set in a remote country house, when a harmless game turns decidedly deadly and suspicions of murder take precedence over the hero's intention of proposing marriage.
Only 1 left

Add to Wishlist

The Crime at Black Dudley Summary


A house-party with a glittering guest-list. An imposing country estate with endless shadowy staircases and unused rooms. The breathless period between the two world wars. It's the ideal setting for the classic English murder mystery, and bringing it to perfection is the introduction in a supporting role, for the first and last time of Albert Campion, the consummate (if compulsively quipping) Gentleman Sleuth. The guests take some time to be grateful for Campion's presence; he is a bit peculiar, and they have more than enough distractions, what with various complicated love affairs, a curious ritual involving a jewelled dagger, and a deadly game of hide-and-seek. But the savvy reader will be singing hosannas from Campion's first appearance, knowing that it marks the beginning of one of the most intelligent and delightful series in the history of crime fiction. "An extremely fine tale of death in an English country house" New York Times "In Margery Allingham's hands the detective novel is transformed from a craft into an art" The Sunday Telegraph (UK) Fans of Dorothy L. Sayers, Agatha Christie, and the Golden Age of British Mystery

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the UK
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

Additional information

Sku
GOR001200652
Title
The Crime at Black Dudley (Classic Crime)
Author
Condition
Very Good
Binding type
Paperback
Publisher
Penguin Books Ltd
Year published
Number of pages
208
ISBN 10
0140093818
ISBN 13
9780140093810
Prizes
N/A
Cover note
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual cover or edition may vary.
Note
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.