Free Shipping In the UK
Currency:
GBP £ GBP
Christmas Delivery | Want Free Shipping in time for Christmas? Order by midday on 16th December (UK only)
Altered Egos By Todd E. Feinberg (Associate Professor of Neurology and Psychiatry at Albert Einstein College of Medicine; and Chief, Betty and Morton Yarmon Division of Neurobehavior and Alzheimer's Disease, Associate Professor of Neurology and Psychiatry at Albert Einstein College of Medicine; and Chief, Betty and Morton Yarmon Division of Neurobehavior and Alzheimer's Disease, Beth Israel Medical Center, New Yo

Altered Egos
by Todd E. Feinberg (Associate Professor of Neurology and Psychiatry at Albert Einstein College of Medicine; and Chief, Betty and Morton Yarmon Division of Neurobehavior and Alzheimer's Disease, Beth Israel Medical Center, New York)

In Stock
£5.49
How does the brain create the self? After looking at patients who have undergone a change in the brain that transforms the boundaries of the self, the author presents a model of the self that links the workings of the brain with personal features of the mind, such as meaning, purpose, and being.
Only 1 left

Altered Egos Summary


Altered Egos: How the Brain Creates the Self by Todd E. Feinberg (Associate Professor of Neurology and Psychiatry at Albert Einstein College of Medicine; and Chief, Betty and Morton Yarmon Division of Neurobehavior and Alzheimer's Disease, Beth Israel Medical Center, New York)

It may be the deepest mystery of philosophy, psychology, and neuroscience: how does the brain unite to create the self, the subjective "I"? In Altered Egos, Dr. Todd Feinberg presents a new theory of the self, based on his first-hand experience as both a psychiatrist and neurologist. Feinberg first introduces the reader to dozens of intriguing cases of patients whose disorders have resulted in what he calls "altered egos": a change in the brain that transforms the boundaries of the self. He describes patients who suffer from "alien hand syndrome" where one hand might attack the patient's own throat, patients with frontal lobe damage who invent fantastic stories about their lives, paralyzed patients who reject and disown one of their limbs. Feinberg argues that the brain damage suffered by these people has done more than simply impair certain functions-it has fragmented their sense of self. After illustrating how these patients provide a window into the self and the mind, the author presents a new model of the self that links the workings of the brain with unique and personal features of the mind, such as meaning, purpose, and being. Drawing on his own and other evidence, Feinberg explains how the unified self, while not located in one or another brain region, arises out of the staggering complexity and number of the brain's component parts. Lucid, insightful, filled with fascinating case studies and provocative new ideas, Altered Egos promises to change the way we think about human consciousness and the creation and maintenance of human identity.

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the UK
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

Altered Egos Reviews


"Altered Egos offers us a dazzling array of neurological syndromes to show how delicately constructed is our sense of self...The shock of such tales is to see how distorted your mental realm can become without you ever knowing the difference." -New Scientist
"Anyone perplexed by the riddle of consciousness-and who is not these days?-should read Todd Feinberg's bold, energetic account of how a brain makes a mind."-John Horgan, author of The Undiscovered Mind
"A fascinating book. I was astonished to find out that one of my favorite film characters, Dr. Strangelove, is actually displaying signs of 'alien hand,' a medical syndrome. There are many real-life case studies in this book used to explain the way the human mind invents and reinvents itself. A must read!"-Gus Van Sant, film director
"This is an ambitious work, tackling no less than the mind-body problem. Amazingly, it is successful in that it offers a new way of thinking about problems of self, subjectivity and meaning . . . I am extremely enthusiastic about this book."-Martha J. Farah, Professor of Psychology and Director of the Center for Cognitive Neuroscience, University of Pennsylvania
"In the tradition of Jackson, Critchley, and Sacks, Todd Feinberg melds clinical wisdom, impressive scholarship, and profound philosophical insight to produce a lucid and enchanting account of what determines our daily actions and experiences. Far beyond the tired genre of "neurostories," Altered Egos examines the souls behind the symptoms to give the reader a stunning appreciation of how all the aspects of our lives that we take for grantedour perceptions, memories, feelings, and beliefsare actually sculpted and crafted from myriad experiential elements that can only be dissected and examined under the harsh lens of injury or disease. Above all, Altered Egos shows us how intentionalitythe purposeful seeking of meaningis what distinguishes us from both beast and computer, and this warm and thoughtful book provides a blueprint of what it truly means to be a human being."- Laurence Miller, Ph.D., author of Inner Natures and Freud's Brain
"Altered Egos combines philosophy and psychology with case histories of neurological and psychiatric patients to paint a novel picture of how the brain makes the self. It's fascinating reading, start to finish." -Joseph E. LeDoux, Henry and Lucy Moses Professor of Science, New York University, and author of The Emotional Brain

About Todd E. Feinberg (Associate Professor of Neurology and Psychiatry at Albert Einstein College of Medicine; and Chief, Betty and Morton Yarmon Division of Neurobehavior and Alzheimer's Disease, Beth Israel Medical Center, New York)


Todd E. Feinberg, M.D. is Associate Professor of Neurology and Psychiatry at The Albert Einstein College of Medicine, and Chief of the Betty and Morton Yarmon Division of Neurobehavior and Alzheimer's Disease at the Beth Israel Medical Center in New York.

Table of Contents


1. Introduction: Soul Searching ; 2. Deconstructing the Self ; 3. Missing Pieces, Familiar Places ; 4. Mything Persons ; 5. Auto-Bodies ; 6. Keeping it All Together ; 7. Journey to the Center of the Mind ; 8. The Nested Hierarchy of the Self and Mind ; 9. Being and Brain ; 10. The Living Mind

Additional information

GOR003872552
Altered Egos: How the Brain Creates the Self by Todd E. Feinberg (Associate Professor of Neurology and Psychiatry at Albert Einstein College of Medicine; and Chief, Betty and Morton Yarmon Division of Neurobehavior and Alzheimer's Disease, Beth Israel Medical Center, New York)
Todd E. Feinberg (Associate Professor of Neurology and Psychiatry at Albert Einstein College of Medicine; and Chief, Betty and Morton Yarmon Division of Neurobehavior and Alzheimer's Disease, Beth Israel Medical Center, New York)
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Oxford University Press Inc
2002-04-01
216
0195152425
9780195152425
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.