Free Shipping in the US on over 5 million books in stock
My Last Duchess By Daisy Goodwin

My Last Duchess

Used Price
$7.39
Free Shipping in the US
A deliciously classy tale of an American heiress, an English blue blood and the hunt for happiness from the acclaimed scriptwriter for the epic drama, VICTORIA.
Reviews:

8 in stock


My Last Duchess Summary


My Last Duchess: The unputdownable epic novel of an American Heiress by Daisy Goodwin

MY LAST DUCHESS is the debut novel from Daisy Goodwin, the script writer of the epic ITV Sunday night drama VICTORIA,. A rich, rewarding love story, perfect for readers of Georgette Heyer, and fans of VICTORIA, DOWNTON ABBEY and THE CROWN.

'Sparkling and thoroughly engaging' Sunday Times
'Deliciously classy. An intelligent pleasure, full of exquisite period detail' Kate Mosse

Cora Cash has grown up in a world in which money unlocks every door. Her coming-out ball promises to be the most opulent of the gilded 1890s, a fitting debut for New York's 'princess'. Yet her fortune cannot buy her the one thing she craves -- the freedom to choose her own destiny. For Cora's mother has her heart on a title for her daughter, and in England -- where they are bound, to find Cora a husband.

When Cora loses her heart to a man she barely knows, she soon realises that she is playing a game she does not fully understand -- and that her future happiness is the prize.

Customer Reviews - My Last Duchess


Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the US
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

My Last Duchess Reviews


'Sparkling and thoroughly engaging...the story of a poor little rich girl learning the hard way how to concentrate on the next step along the tightrope makes for a highly enjoyable and intelligent read' * The Sunday Times *
'Daisy Goodwin's debut novel is a delightful confection - a clash of cultures set in late 19th-century England, embellished with the glittering lavishness that the period implies' * Marie Claire *
'Anyone suffering Downton Abbey withdrawal symptoms (who isn't?) will find an instant tonic in Daisy Goodwin's My Last Duchess...this is a deliciously evocative first novel that lingers in the mind. Henry James with belles on' * Allison Pearson, Telegraph, Books of the Year for Christmas *

About Daisy Goodwin


Daisy Goodwin's work as a TV producer and presenter includes Reader I Married Him, Bookworm and The Nation's Favourite Poems; she is also the creator of Grand Designs and wrote the script for ITVs Victoria . She has edited numerous poetry anthologies, including the bestselling 101 Poems That Could Save Your Life, and is the author of Silver River, a memoir as well as two novels, My Last Duchess and The Fortune Hunter. Goodwin reviews regularly for the Times and Sunday Times and writes a bibliotherapy column for the Daily Mail.

Additional information

GOR002327536
My Last Duchess: The unputdownable epic novel of an American Heiress by Daisy Goodwin
Daisy Goodwin
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Headline Publishing Group
2011-01-06
512
0755348087
9780755348084
Short-listed for Galaxy National Book Awards: Specsavers Popular Fiction Book of the Year 2011
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.