Cart
Free Shipping on all orders in the US
Over 7 million books in stock
We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
The Last Mile By David Baldacci

The Last Mile by David Baldacci

Condition - Like New
$7,99
Only 3 left

Summary

From one of the world's favourite thriller writers, this is the second title in the Amos Decker crime series, following Memory Man.

The Last Mile Summary

The Last Mile by David Baldacci

A gripping thriller from David Baldacci, The Last Mile is perfect for fans of Lee Child and James Patterson.

Memories can be a real killer.

Melvin Mars awaits his fate on Death Row. He was one of America's most promising football stars until, aged twenty, he was arrested and convicted for the murder of his parents just as he was due to begin a very lucrative contract with the NFL.

When Amos Decker, newly appointed special agent with the FBI, hears the news that Melvin was saved in the final seconds before his execution because someone has confessed to the killings, he persuades his boss to allow him to carry out an investigation into the Mars murders.

There are facts about the case which don't add up, and as the investigation deepens, Decker and his team uncover layer upon layer of lies and deception which are rooted at a time in American history which most would rather forget, but some seem keen to remember.

There is someone out there with a lot to hide, and a secret that everyone is looking for. A race against time ensues because, when revealed, that information threatens to tear apart the corridors of power at the very highest level.

The case proves to be life-changing for both Mars and Decker in ways that neither could ever have imagined.

The Last Mile is the second in the Amos Decker series, following Memory Man.

The Last Mile Reviews

David Baldacci's The Last Mile is a second outing for Amos Decker, the Holmesian hero of last year's Memory Man . . . A typically twisty plot never flags, and benefits from having the likeably offbeat sleuth (whose gifts include synaesthesia and photographic memory) as its pivot * The Sunday Times *
Already among the world's bestselling writers, Baldacci hardly needs to prove himself but he's created one of the most intriguing, complex anti-heroes....Impossible to put down, especially because of Decker, who weaves a powerful spell * Daily Mail *
A clever thriller in the Jeffrey Deaver mould * The Sun *
It's big, bold and almost impossible to put down . . . Decker is one of the most unusual detectives any novelist has dreamed up . . . I called this novel a master class on the bestseller because of its fast-moving narrative, the originality of its hero and its irresistible plot . . . Highly entertaining * Washington Post *
David Baldacci has written another thriller that will have readers engaged from the first page . . . Baldacci is a master storyteller . . . Memory Man works because Amos Decker is an amazing character. Reading how Decker journeys from hitting rock bottom to finding ultimate redemption is nothing short of rewarding * Associated Press *
Perennial bestseller Baldacci unveils an offbeat hero with an unusual skill set and tragic past who takes on the evil mastermind behind a devastating school shooting . . . [Decker] proves a quirky, original antihero with a definite method to his madness . . . Readers will want to see Decker back on the printed page again and again * Kirkus Reviews *
[A] strong first in a new thriller series from bestseller Baldacci . . . Baldacci supplies a multitude of clever touches as his wounded bear of a detective takes on a most ingenious enemy * Publishers Weekly *
Baldacci weaves a suspenseful story right up to the climactic face-off between these complex and compelling characters. Highly recommended for all thriller fans who love elusive, taunting criminals and the slightly bent but always determined detectives who pursue them * Library Journal (Starred Review) *
Baldacci makes it feel fresh * Booklist *
Baldacci's novels always have an emotional component . . . But Memory Man stands out among his thrillers for its deeply felt - and earned - sense of catharsis and healing . . . Baldacci's last few books have been among his best, and it's a pleasure to see him produce emotionally and dramatically intense work at the height of his maturity as a novelist * Richmond Times-Dispatch *
One of the world's biggest-selling thriller writers, Baldacci needs no introduction . . . Brilliant plotting, heart-grabbing action and characters to die for * Daily Mail *
The page-turner of the season * The Times *
Baldacci inhabits the skin of his creations - tripping us up with unexpected empathy and subtle identification * Sunday Express *

About David Baldacci

David Baldacci is a worldwide bestselling novelist of titles such as The Fix, No Man's Land and End Game. With over 130 million copies in print, his books are published in over eighty territories and forty-five languages, and have been adapted for both feature-film and television. He has established links to government sources, giving his books added authenticity. David is also the co-founder, along with his wife, of the Wish You Well Foundation (R), a non-profit organization dedicated to supporting literacy efforts across the US.

Trust him to take you to the action.

Additional information

GOR007906457
The Last Mile by David Baldacci
Used - Like New
Paperback
Pan Macmillan
2016-11-03
624
1447277538
9781447277538
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
The book has been read, but looks new. The book cover has no visible wear, and the dust jacket is included if applicable. No missing or damaged pages, no tears, possible very minimal creasing, no underlining or highlighting of text, and no writing in the margins

Customer Reviews - The Last Mile