Free Shipping In the US
Currency:
USD $ USD
Hungarian Dances By Jessica Duchen

Hungarian Dances
by Jessica Duchen

The thoughtful and compelling issues-based third novel from an author who has already gained a loyal fanbase.
Only 2 left

Hungarian Dances Summary


Hungarian Dances by Jessica Duchen

Do you ever wish that you could be someone else? Just step out of your life and wake up as someone new? Karinas life was once mapped out for her she was meant to follow in the footsteps of her Hungarian grandmother, a world-famous violinist. Instead, shes a teacher, a mum and wife to Julian, a very English husband whos not always in step with her. But when disaster befalls her best friend, Karina feels forced to question the very foundations of her existence. Encouraged by a chance encounter with a like-minded musician, she begins to delve into her grandmothers Gypsy past, and to discover the secrets of her Hungarian family history. Life will never be the same again. Like most people, Karina isnt sure the life she chose was the right one. But she is willing to take drastic steps to change it.

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the US
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

Hungarian Dances Reviews


'Jessica Duchen's debut novel is captivating, imaginative and fascinating. As a musician and a mother, I recognized many of the scenarios and found the questions that were posed very poignant, both from a musical and personal perspective. The pace builds powerfully to a dramatic and ultimately very moving conclusion. Completely gripping!' -- Tasmin Little on RITES OF SPRING 'Jessica Duchen has crafted a riveting drama set within the arts world ... The neatly-composed plot charges to a climax as steadily as Ravels Bolro, with Duchen capturing well the inner world of the pubescent girl and the London classical music scene. For fans of Joanna Trollope and Russian composers alike.' -- Classic FM Magazine on RITES OF SPRING 'An imaginative novel about a music writer, her violinist husband their daughter, with themes of miscommunication, perfectionism and adolescence.' -- Eve on RITES OF SPRING 'The devil in this book is in the detail, the accumulation of every detail that disables middle class life when the unexpected lands, in this case a musically gifted child. You turn the pages with a tremble, in case you crush the fragile family. Unbearably real.' -- Yasmin Alibhai-Brown 'Duchen skilfully balances the conventions of the genre with the authority of a writer who really knows her subject. ALICIA's GIFT is a wonderful read. But make sure you keep the Kleenex handy when you tackle it.' -- Music Teacher on Alicia's Gift 'This is a very well written study of the problem of being and having a child prodigy... it's a gripping read and it's very easy to get caught up in the excitement of wanting Alicia to succeed... I enjoyed this book a lot' -- Muso on Alicia's Gift

About Jessica Duchen


Jessica Duchen was born in London and grew up with music and writing as twin passions. She writes for the Independent and has interviewed most of todays greatest musicians. Hungarian Dances is her third novel. Her other books include biographies of the composers Gabriel Faur and Erich Wolfgang Korngold and she has written several stage works and short stories. She lives in London with her violinist husband.

Additional information

GOR001227556
Hungarian Dances by Jessica Duchen
Jessica Duchen
Used - Very Good
Hardback
Hodder & Stoughton General Division
2007-01-01
400
0340933577
9780340933572
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.