Free Shipping in the US on over 5 million books in stock
The Whispers of War By Julia Kelly

The Whispers of War

Used Price
$9.99
Free Shipping in the US
A moving story of the power of friendship, the cost of war and the strength of love. Perfect for fans of The Lilac Girls, A Woman of War and The Secret Orphan.

Only 1 left


The Whispers of War Summary


The Whispers of War by Julia Kelly

August, 1939, Britain watches the headlines in fear of another devastating war with Germany and three women must choose between friendship or country.

Socialite Nora is determined to find her place in the Home Office's Air Raid Precautions Department, while matchmaker, Hazel, tries to mask two closely guarded secrets with irrepressible optimism, and German ex-pat Marie worries that she and her family might face imprisonment in an internment camp if war is declared.

When Germany invades Poland and tensions on the home front rise, Marie is labelled an enemy alien, and the three friends find themselves fighting together to keep her free at any cost.

The Whispers of War is a moving and unforgettable tale of the power and strength of friendship in a time of conflict. Perfect for fans of Lilac Girls, A Woman of War and The Secret Orphan.

Praise for Julia Kelly:

'A heartbreaking romance that will grip you from the very beginning' Washington Post

'Kelly deftly balances intrigue with mystery and historical detail in her latest novel... A charming imagining of the historical gunner girls' Kirkus Review

'Kelly weaves an intricate, tender, and convincing tale of war and romance with skill and suspense' Publishers Weekly

Customer Reviews - The Whispers of War


Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the US
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

The Whispers of War Reviews


Sweeping, stirring, and heartrending in all the best ways, this tale of one of WWII's courageous, colorful, and enigmatic Gunner Girls will take your breath away.

Kelly deftly balances intrigue with mystery and historical detail in her latest novel... A charming imagining of the historical gunner girls.

It is a heartbreaking romance that will grip you from the very beginning. Julia Kelly weaves a tender romantic story around a girl who fights war showing how strong even tender, romantic women can be. With a bit of mystery in the story, even mystery-readers will like it. - Washington Post

About Julia Kelly


Julia Kelly is the award-winning author of books about ordinary women and their extraordinary stories. In addition to writing, she's been an Emmy-nominated producer, journalist, marketing professional, and (for one summer) a tea waitress. Julia called Los Angeles, Iowa, and New York City home before settling in London.

Additional information

GOR010834454
The Whispers of War by Julia Kelly
Julia Kelly
Used - Like New
Paperback
Orion Publishing Co
2020-09-03
336
1409189473
9781409189473
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
The book has been read, but looks new. The book cover has no visible wear, and the dust jacket is included if applicable. No missing or damaged pages, no tears, possible very minimal creasing, no underlining or highlighting of text, and no writing in the margins.