Free Shipping in the US on over 5 million books in stock
Calling Me Home By Julie Kibler

Calling Me Home

Used Price
$21.99
Free Shipping in the US

A stunning, moving tale of forbidden love in segregated 1930s Kentucky: 'If you liked The Help by Kathryn Stockett, you'll absolutely love Calling Me Home' Red magazine

`Fans of The Help with love this touching debut... A poignant tale of race relations in America, it will have you hooked' Sunday Express S Magazine

Only 1 left


Calling Me Home Summary


Calling Me Home by Julie Kibler

A moving love story inspired by a true story and perfect for fans of The Help

In a time of hate, would you stand up for love?

Shalerville, Kentucky, 1939. A world where black maids and handymen are trusted to raise white children and tend to white houses, but from which they are banished after dark.

Sixteen-year-old Isabelle McAllister, born into wealth and privilege, finds her ordered life turned upside down when she becomes attracted to Robert, the ambitious black son of her family's housekeeper. Before long Isabelle and Robert are crossing extraordinary, dangerous boundaries and falling deeply in love.

Many years later, eighty-nine-year-old Isabelle will travel from her home in Arlington, Texas, to Ohio for a funeral. With Isabelle is her hairstylist and friend, Dorrie Curtis - a black single mother with her own problems. Along the way, Isabelle will finally reveal to Dorrie the truth of her painful past: a tale of forbidden love, the consequences of which will resound for decades . . .

`If Julie Kibler's novel Calling Me Home were a young woman, her grandmother would be To Kill a Mockingbird, her sister would be The Help and her cousin would be The Notebook. But even with such iconic relatives, Calling Me Home stands on her own' Wiley Cash, New York Times bestselling author of A Land More Kind Than Home

`Julie Kibler's writing is so wise and assured. I laughed out loud in places and had tears in my eyes as I turned the last page' Diane Chamberlain

'If you liked The Help by Kathryn Stockett, you'll absolutely love Calling Me Home' Red magazine

Customer Reviews - Calling Me Home


Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the US
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

Calling Me Home Reviews


"'I laughed out loud in places and had tears in my eyes as I turned the last page. I can't wait to watch Julie Kibler's star rise!' Diane Chamberlain"

About Julie Kibler


Julie Kibler began writing Calling Me Home after learning a bit of family lore: as a young woman, her grandmother fell in love with a young black man in an era and locale that made the relationship impossible. When not writing, she enjoys travel, independent films, music, photography, and corralling her teenagers and rescue dogs. She lives in Arlington, Texas. Calling Me Home is her debut novel. Discover more at JulieKibler.com, facebook.com/juliekiblerauthor @juliekibler

Additional information

GOR007325246
Calling Me Home by Julie Kibler
Julie Kibler
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Pan Macmillan
2013-02-14
336
1447227557
9781447227557
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.