Free Shipping in the US on over 5 million books in stock
Come West and See By Maxim Loskutoff

Come West and See

Used Price
$13.39
Free Shipping in the US
An NPR Best Book of 2018

"Devastating....Grows increasingly bizarre and haunting until it's left an indelible mark." -Janet Maslin, New York Times
Reviews:

Only 1 left


Come West and See Summary


Come West and See: Stories by Maxim Loskutoff

In an isolated region of Idaho, Montana, and eastern Oregon, an armed occupation of a wildlife refuge escalates into civil war. Against this backdrop, Maxim Loskutoff shatters the myths of the West: a lonesome trapper falls in love with a bear; a newly married woman hatches a plot to murder a tree; and an unemployed millworker joins a militia after returning home. Written with "blade-sharp prose" (Electric Literature), the twelve stories in this debut collection expose the simmering rage and resentments of small-town America "with extraordinary eloquence and compassion" (National Book Review).

Customer Reviews - Come West and See


Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the US
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

Come West and See Reviews


"A new kind of American Western." -- Jolie Myers - NPR
"A ferocious love letter to the forgotten and the scorned." -- Matt Gallagher
"Fans of Cormac McCarthy and Russell Banks will find plenty to like in Loskutoff's fresh voice and keen instincts for drama." -- LA Weekly
"Like postcards from a truthful place, Come West and See holds a mirror up to America-a brutal, ferocious image that carries a beauty unto itself." -- Craig Johnson, author of the Walt Longmire mysteries, basis for the Netflix original series Longmire
"Maxim Loskutoff highlights life on the other side- the disenfranchised, angry, sullen, rebellious, gun-packing side. See them attempt to create a homeland of their own." -- William Kittredge, author of Hole in the Sky
"Violence waits for its moment in the quietest of lives, and Loskutoff shows us that we had better face it and do our best to understand it. A tough, human work of fiction." -- Tom Bouman, author of Dry Bones in the Valley
"[A] visceral debut.... Come West and See almost invites comparison with books in the vein of Juan Rulfo's enigmatic midcentury masterpiece Pedro Paramo.... Whereas Rulfo's novel is full of corpses, Loskutoff's characters are very much alive." -- Adam DePollo - Michigan Quarterly Review
"It is impossible not to be struck by the tenderness in Loskutoff's writing: the sublime setting; the vivid characters, so precise and unique it seems like he dreamed them up whole and fully fledged; the intricacies of love, fear, and fatigue that resonate so strongly they left me actually breathless." -- Ploughshares

About Maxim Loskutoff


Maxim Loskutoff is the critically acclaimed author of the story collection Come West and See. His stories and essays have appeared in numerous periodicals, including the New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Ploughshares, and the Southern Review. He lives in western Montana.

Additional information

GOR010716393
Come West and See: Stories by Maxim Loskutoff
Maxim Loskutoff
Used - Very Good
Paperback
WW Norton & Co
2019-07-09
240
0393357015
9780393357011
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.