Free Shipping in the US on over 5 million books in stock
No Highway By Nevil Shute

No Highway

Used Price
$12.99
Free Shipping in the US
Theodore Honey is a shy, inconspicous aircraft engineer whose eccentric interests in quantum mechanics and spiritualism are frowned upon in aviation circles. But when a passenger plane crashes in unexplained circumstances, Honey must convince his superiors that his unorthodox theories are correct before more lives are lost.

Out of stock


No Highway Summary


No Highway by Nevil Shute

Read this classic uplifting, moving and heartwarming story about life in the face of the cold war.

Theodore Honey is a shy, inconspicuous aircraft engineer whose eccentric interests in quantum mechanics and spiritualism are frowned upon in aviation circles. But when a passenger plane crashes in unexplained circumstances, Honey must convince his superiors that his unorthodox theories are correct before more lives are lost.

Customer Reviews - No Highway


Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the US
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

No Highway Reviews


No Highway is a novel which engages the heart and grips the mind * Evening Standard *
Shute was a brilliant storyteller and terrific example for any writer * Express *
Mr Shute is a storyteller in the tradition of R.L Stevenson and Kipling * Evening News *
That shattering, unaffected literary style..masterly

About Nevil Shute


Nevil Shute was born on 17 January 1899 in Ealing, London. After attending the Dragon School and Shrewsbury School, he studied Engineering Science at Balliol College, Oxford. He worked as an aeronautical engineer and published his first novel, Marazan, in 1926. In 1931 he married Frances Mary Heaton and they went on to have two daughters. During the Second World War he joined the Royal Navy Volunteer Reserve where he worked on developing secret weapons. After the war he continued to write and settled in Australia where he lived until his death on 12 January 1960. His most celebrated novels include Pied Piper (1942), No Highway (1948), A Town Like Alice (1950) and On the Beach (1957).

Additional information

GOR009382193
No Highway by Nevil Shute
Nevil Shute
Used - Like New
Paperback
Vintage Publishing
2009-09-03
336
0099530090
9780099530091
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
The book has been read, but looks new. The book cover has no visible wear, and the dust jacket is included if applicable. No missing or damaged pages, no tears, possible very minimal creasing, no underlining or highlighting of text, and no writing in the margins.