Free Shipping In the US
Currency:
USD $ USD
The Places In Between By Rory Stewart

The Places In Between
by Rory Stewart

THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER: A brilliant account of a death defying walk through Afghanistan
10 in stock

The Places In Between Summary


The Places In Between by Rory Stewart

Rory Stewart's moving, sparsely poetic account of his walk across Afghanistan in January 2002 has been immediately hailed as a classic. Caught between hostile nations, warring factions and competing ideologies, at the time, Afghanistan was in turmoil following the US invasion. Travelling entirely on foot and following the inaccessible, mountainous route once taken by the Mohgul Emperor, Babur the Great, Stewart was nearly defeated by the extreme, hostile conditions. Only due to the help of an unexpected companion and the generosity of the people he met on the way, did he survive to report back with unique insight on a region closed to the world by twenty-four years of war.

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the US
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

The Places In Between Reviews


"'This is traveling at its hardest and travel-writing at its best' - David Gilmour 'an astonishing achievement: a unique journey of great courage' - Colin Thubron 'The Places in Between goes straight into the highest echelons of travel literature' - Wanderlust 'a writer in the tradition of Thesiger and Thubron' - Spectator '[this] evocative book feels like a long lost relic of the great age of exploration' - Guardian 'a mature debut, and an intelligent and illuminating introduction to this fascinating, unfortunate country.' - Telegraph '[Stewart] must have balls of steel, but he writes like an angel all the same.' - Conde Nast Traveller 'one of the most thrilling and informative books to have been written about that incredible country since Robert Byron's The Road to Oxiana' - Country Life"

About Rory Stewart


Rory Stewart was born in Hong Kong and grew up in Malaysia. After a brief period in the British army, he joined the Foreign Office, serving in the Embassy in Indonesia and as British Representative in Montenegro, Yugoslavia. In 2002 he completed a 6,000 mile walk from Turkey to Bangladesh. His account of crossing Afghanistan on foot shortly after the US invasion, The Places In Between, was published in 2004, drew widespread acclaim, and was shortlisted for that year's Guardian First Book Award. He was awarded an OBE in 2004 for his work in Iraq. From 2006 to 2008 he lived in Kabul, where he was the Chief Executive of the Turquoise Mountain Foundation; in 2009 he was appointed to a professorial chair at Harvard University as the Ryan Family Professor of Human Rights; and in 2010 he was elected as Member of Parliament for Penrith and the Border.

Additional information

GOR001234463
The Places In Between by Rory Stewart
Rory Stewart
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Pan Macmillan
2005-04-01
336
0330486349
9780330486347
Short-listed for John Llewellyn Rhys Prize 2004 (UK) Long-listed for Guardian First Book Award 2004 (UK)
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.