Free Shipping In the US
Currency:
USD $ USD
The Boy with the Topknot By Sathnam Sanghera

The Boy with the Topknot
by Sathnam Sanghera

For the author, growing up in Wolverhampton in the eighties was a confusing business. On the one hand, these were the heady days of George Michael mix-tapes, Dallas on TV and, if he was lucky, the occasional Bounty Bar. This title tells his story.
12 in stock

The Boy with the Topknot Summary


The Boy with the Topknot: A Memoir of Love, Secrets and Lies in Wolverhampton by Sathnam Sanghera

NOW A BBC DRAMA

The Boy with the Topknot: A Memoir of Love, Secrets and Lies in Wolverhampton is a hilarious and heart-rending reinvention of the modern British memoir.

"It's 1979, I'm three years old, and like all breakfast times during my youth it begins with Mum combing my hair, a ritual for which I have to sit down on the second-hand, floral-patterned settee, and lean forward, like I'm presenting myself for execution."

For Sathnam Sanghera, growing up in Wolverhampton in the eighties was a confusing business. On the one hand, these were the heady days of George Michael mix-tapes, Dallas on TV and, if he was lucky, the occasional Bounty Bar. On the other, there was his wardrobe of tartan smocks, his 30p-an-hour job at the local sewing factory and the ongoing challenge of how to tie the perfect top-knot.
And then there was his family, whose strange and often difficult behaviour he took for granted until, at the age of twenty-four, Sathnam made a discovery that changed everything he ever thought he knew about them. Equipped with breathtaking courage and a glorious sense of humour, he embarks on a journey into their extraordinary past - from his father's harsh life in rural Punjab to the steps of the Wolverhampton Tourist Office - trying to make sense of a life lived among secrets.

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in the US
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

The Boy with the Topknot Reviews


I absolutely loved it. Heartbreaking and wonderful. He writes beautifully -- Maggie O'Farrell
Could not be more enjoyable, engaging or moving * Observer *
About real secrets, in a real quest for understanding. It's tragic, funny and disturbing. It will challenge you, and may even change you -- Carole Angier * Independent *
Hilarious, engaging, tragicomic -- Meg Rosoff * Guardian *
'Gripping and entertaining, horrifying and tender ... Exposes all those things we take for granted as we grow up -- Hardeep Singh Kohli * The Times *
Fans of Nick Hornby and Jonathan Coe will love this book * Psychologies *
Gripping, tender ... recalls A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius * Time Out *
Told with enormous compassion and dry wit. The climax had me on the edge of my seat * Jonathan Coe *
Funny, heartfelt * Marie Claire *
Hugely enjoyable * New Statesman *
Funny and revealing * Sunday Times *
Marvellous. A book which manages to be colourful, funny, heart-breaking and shocking ... there's a dry wit and unexpectedness about this tale that kept me on my toes throughout * Irish Examiner *
Intimate and funny * Metro *
Moving * The London Paper *
Moving * Sunday Times *
Harrowing and impossible to put down * Evening Standard *
The most moving debut we've read in ages * Elle *
Could not be more enjoyable, engaging or moving * Observer *
Fans of Nick Hornby and Jonathan Coe will love this book * Psychologies *
Gripping, tender ... recalls A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius * Time Out *
Told with enormous compassion and dry wit. The climax had me on the edge of my seat * Jonathan Coe *
Funny, heartfelt * Marie Claire *
Hugely enjoyable * New Statesman *
Funny and revealing * Sunday Times *
Marvellous. A book which manages to be colourful, funny, heart-breaking and shocking ... there's a dry wit and unexpectedness about this tale that kept me on my toes throughout * Irish Examiner *
Intimate and funny * Metro *
Moving * The London Paper *
Moving * Sunday Times *
Harrowing and impossible to put down * Evening Standard *
The most moving debut we've read in ages * Elle *
'Gripping and entertaining, horrifying and tender ... Exposes all those things we take for granted as we grow up -- Hardeep Singh Kohli * The Times *

About Sathnam Sanghera


Sathnam Sanghera was born in 1976. He is an award-winning journalist who was previously chief feature writer at The Financial Times and now works for The Times. He lives in London. This is his first book.

Additional information

GOR001239482
The Boy with the Topknot: A Memoir of Love, Secrets and Lies in Wolverhampton by Sathnam Sanghera
Sathnam Sanghera
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Penguin Books Ltd
2009-04-29
336
0141028599
9780141028590
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.