Smoke and Mirrors: The 2nd Stephens and Mephisto Mystery by Elly Griffiths

Smoke and Mirrors: The 2nd Stephens and Mephisto Mystery by Elly Griffiths

£4.49

Availability: In stock

Chilling murder in the world of 1950s theatre - another case for DI Stephens and Max Mephisto for fans of Christopher Fowler's Bryant and May books.

Only 5 left

OR

Description

Details

Brighton, winter 1951. Pantomime season is in full swing on the pier with Max Mephisto starring in Aladdin, but Max's headlines have been stolen by the disappearance --of two local children. When they are found dead in the snow, surrounded by sweets, it's not long before the press nickname them 'Hansel and Gretel'. DI Edgar Stephens has plenty of leads to investigate. The girl, Annie, used to write gruesome plays based on the Grimms' fairy tales. Does the clue lie in Annie's unfinished - and rather disturbing - last script? Or might it lie with the eccentric theatricals who have assembled for the pantomime? Once again Edgar enlists Max's help in penetrating the shadowy theatrical world that seems to hold the key. But is this all just classic misdirection?

Additional Information

Additional Information

SKU GOR007038241
Title Smoke and Mirrors: The 2nd Stephens and Mephisto Mystery
Author By (author) Elly Griffiths
Condition VERYGOOD
Binding Type Hardback
Publisher Quercus Publishing
Year Published 2015
Number of Pages 352
ISBN 10 1784290262
ISBN 13 9781784290269
Edition N/A
Prizes N/A
Cover Note: Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual cover or edition may vary.
Note: This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.
Description

Details

Brighton, winter 1951. Pantomime season is in full swing on the pier with Max Mephisto starring in Aladdin, but Max's headlines have been stolen by the disappearance --of two local children. When they are found dead in the snow, surrounded by sweets, it's not long before the press nickname them 'Hansel and Gretel'. DI Edgar Stephens has plenty of leads to investigate. The girl, Annie, used to write gruesome plays based on the Grimms' fairy tales. Does the clue lie in Annie's unfinished - and rather disturbing - last script? Or might it lie with the eccentric theatricals who have assembled for the pantomime? Once again Edgar enlists Max's help in penetrating the shadowy theatrical world that seems to hold the key. But is this all just classic misdirection?
Additional Information

Additional Information

SKU GOR007038241
Title Smoke and Mirrors: The 2nd Stephens and Mephisto Mystery
Author By (author) Elly Griffiths
Condition VERYGOOD
Binding Type Hardback
Publisher Quercus Publishing
Year Published 2015
Number of Pages 352
ISBN 10 1784290262
ISBN 13 9781784290269
Edition N/A
Prizes N/A
Cover Note: Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual cover or edition may vary.
Note: This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.