The Apple of Her Eye by Pamela Evans

The Apple of Her Eye by Pamela Evans

£1.99

Availability: In stock

Conveying the heartbreak and hardship of the Second World War and the indomitable spirit of the Londoners who survived it, this dramatic saga will appeal to fans of Kitty Neale and Carol Rivers.

Only 5 left

OR

Description

Details

Pam Evans' family saga brings post-war London vividly to life as, amid rationing and food shortages, a young girl finds a passion for growing her own vegetables. It is 1945 and April Green and her cousin Heather wonder if the war will ever end. Then tragedy strikes when the local pub in Chiswick takes a direct hit. April and her brother do all they can to help their grieving mother and, by tending her father's allotment, April discovers a passion for growing vegetables. Meanwhile, Winnie Benson is facing the fact that her husband may never walk again and, until their son, George, returns from the Merchant Navy, Winnie must run their greengrocer's on her own. Once the war is over and George is home, things start to improve but rationing remains in force and April's supply of home-grown vegetables couldn't be more welcome. And, before long, George can't help wishing he was the apple of her eye...

Additional Information

Additional Information

SKU GOR006986028
Title The Apple of Her Eye
Author By (author) Pamela Evans
Condition VERYGOOD
Binding Type Paperback
Publisher Headline Publishing Group
Year Published 2015
Number of Pages 352
ISBN 10 1472219279
ISBN 13 9781472219275
Edition N/A
Prizes N/A
Cover Note: Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual cover or edition may vary.
Note: This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.
Ex Library No
Description

Details

Pam Evans' family saga brings post-war London vividly to life as, amid rationing and food shortages, a young girl finds a passion for growing her own vegetables. It is 1945 and April Green and her cousin Heather wonder if the war will ever end. Then tragedy strikes when the local pub in Chiswick takes a direct hit. April and her brother do all they can to help their grieving mother and, by tending her father's allotment, April discovers a passion for growing vegetables. Meanwhile, Winnie Benson is facing the fact that her husband may never walk again and, until their son, George, returns from the Merchant Navy, Winnie must run their greengrocer's on her own. Once the war is over and George is home, things start to improve but rationing remains in force and April's supply of home-grown vegetables couldn't be more welcome. And, before long, George can't help wishing he was the apple of her eye...
Additional Information

Additional Information

SKU GOR006986028
Title The Apple of Her Eye
Author By (author) Pamela Evans
Condition VERYGOOD
Binding Type Paperback
Publisher Headline Publishing Group
Year Published 2015
Number of Pages 352
ISBN 10 1472219279
ISBN 13 9781472219275
Edition N/A
Prizes N/A
Cover Note: Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual cover or edition may vary.
Note: This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.
Ex Library No